Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical EZ WIRING fuse block

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dtwbcs, Aug 5, 2017.

  1. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    How do I separate the back cover on the fuse block. Over half of the fuses don't have power. Its just plastic and I don't want to break it.

    Thanks
     
  2. Jalopy Joker
    Joined: Sep 3, 2006
    Posts: 23,423

    Jalopy Joker
    Member

    lodaddyo likes this.
  3. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG] The back is only plastic and has tabs that I can't seem to get to release. I don't want to break it


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  4. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    The bottom section is where that blue line is going away from the fuses; that's what I need to get off without breaking it


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 25,995

    The37Kid
    Member

    How do you trace the wires on something like that? Bob
     
  6. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    I don't know why only half of the fuse block has power and not the rest.?. So I thought I would check there. There are two #10 wires that are "hot" fed from battery power on the backside of the fuse block.
     
  7. upspirate
    Joined: Apr 15, 2012
    Posts: 2,088

    upspirate
    Member

    Been a couple of years since I messed with mine.Maybe some are hot all the time , some only hot when the ignition is on, and some with accessory position?
     
    tb33anda3rd likes this.
  8. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    Well the electric fuel pump had no power to it, with the key on,off,acc. That's when I took my tester &found only half of the fuses had constant power.
    Ran a jumper from battery to the fuel pump and was able to the engine.
     
  9. millelacsrick
    Joined: Oct 29, 2013
    Posts: 20

    millelacsrick
    Member

    So what circuits don't have power?
     
  10. Slide the blu keeper out
     
    loudbang likes this.
  11. Davyj
    Joined: Jul 11, 2011
    Posts: 442

    Davyj
    Member

    Sounds like it has two feed wires, one hot all the time and one from the Acc side of the ignition..............each feeding different sides of the panel. if you have an ohm meter touch one lead to one of the fuses that does not have power and then check if it is connected to any feed wires, by touching the other lead to each in turn to trace what is connected.
     
    loudbang and bct like this.
  12. southcross2631
    Joined: Jan 20, 2013
    Posts: 2,978

    southcross2631
    Member

    They are designed to have switched hot and constant hot. Have you contacted the manufacturer?
     
    loudbang likes this.
  13. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    "EZ wiring does not send complete wiring diagram with harness. They give alt, ignition switch wiring for different makes, but that's about all. Now for your question. The 10 gauge red wire should hook directly to battery, normally at the post on the solenoid. GM uses red wires for hot all the time and pink wires for ignition hot. Also there should be another 10 gauge wire that goes to positive post on alt."
    --Read this on another post--
     
  14. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    Ran both red wires to the battery but only half of the fuse block is still hot
     
  15. uncleandy 65
    Joined: Jan 14, 2013
    Posts: 433

    uncleandy 65
    Member

    I have the same fuse block. I had a problem and called their hot line and never got an answer. I was told they were out of business(anyone heard that?) There is a cover that shows where the wires go. All wires were printed also.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  16. Is there a wire marked IGN SW ACC in the "dash/ignition switch sub harness ?

    image.png

    THATS THE WIRE that will power up the other side of the fuse box
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
    loudbang and upspirate like this.
  17. southcross2631
    Joined: Jan 20, 2013
    Posts: 2,978

    southcross2631
    Member

    I guess that's why I use either painless or American autowire. Never used an EZ wiring harness.
     
    dtwbcs likes this.
  18. I've used EZ wire in all of the cars I've had and never had a problem. Must be lucky.
     
    loudbang and dtwbcs like this.
  19. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    The cover is not marked meaning it can go on two ways which didn't help me either.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    loudbang likes this.
  20. Fat47
    Joined: Nov 10, 2007
    Posts: 1,163

    Fat47
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    As questioned earlier, have you called EZ wire? They were in business two months ago and answered a tech question I had. Or call one of the rod shops that sell their product. Danny's Rod Shop is one of them.
     
    dtwbcs likes this.
  21. You should have gotten a book with it, no? I used a Kwik Wire harness on my car, no problems and the instructions were excellent. I did find an error in their book and emailed them about it.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  22. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    Will attempt to call the company for advice.Will install oil pressure switch for the electric fuel pump, as a safety measure.
     
  23. dtwbcs
    Joined: Nov 15, 2011
    Posts: 841

    dtwbcs
    Member

    Emailed EZWIRING I needed a jumper wire from IGN1 to IGN2- been busy
    THANKS again for the advice as usual:cool:
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.