Register now to get rid of these ads!

Exhaust Pipe Hanger question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by swade41, Mar 19, 2010.

1. What can I use that will allow me only an inch of hang ? (ok get out of the gutter)
    I need to hang my pipe under the running boards and will attach to the running board bracket. It has to be tucked up tight to the running board for ground clearence. The pipes will exit right in front of the rear wheels and coming off a set of fenderwell headers.
    I thought about using a small length of chain so they are not solid mounted but wanted to hear what else is out there if anything.

[​IMG]

2. J&JHotrods

J&JHotrods

Universal hangers suck. I plan on hanging mine using 3/8ths or 1/2 round stock, bent at a 90, welded to the pipe and somewhere on the frame, and using a modern rubber hanger that you see underneath today's cars/trucks. I do collision repair for a living and get to see what the majority of manufacturers are using. It seems that the chrysler town and country or voyager(whatever) have some of the most durable rubber hangers out there, Saturn vehicles coming in second(just my opinion). If designed properly, it will make removing/installing a snap while providing a secure yet flexible mount for the exhaust system. Put a small bend at the end of the round stock where it goes into the rubber hanger so it will limit it's ability to back out by itself. This is similar to what I was referring to(in the middle). Pypes website.
    Just a thought for ya.

Attached Files:

3. This is what I did on the other car, this look is from underneath of course at the back side of the pipe. I cut a muffler clamp U-bolt in half and welded it right to the pipe then used one of those oem hangers off of a bracket I made.
    This hanger was the shortest I could find but was still about 3 inches tall

[​IMG]

4. Hackerbilt

Hackerbilt

Use the TPHV6 style mounts. (In J&JHotrods pic)