Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ever seen a Packard V8 street rod?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by PackardV8, Jan 3, 2008.

1. PackardV8

PackardV8

Greetings, Hambers.

I've been building Studebaker V8s and Packard V8s for forty-five years and reading rod mags for longer than that. In all those years, I've seen articles about one Packard V8 rail job, one rear-engined roadster, one sports car, one '55 stock class competitor and one '56 Golden Hawk at Bonneville. Has anyone ever seen a Packard V8 street rod?

I've been consulting with an old-time rodder in Buffalo, NY who is very close to finishing a '32 Ford roadster with a '56 Packard Caribbean 374" V8 with 2-4bbls. He may be the first-ever featured street rod.

thnx, jack vines

2. T-Bone

T-Bone

HAMB User Nads has a Packard powered 34 coupe but it ain't a "streetrod".

1927graham likes this.
  3. bushwacker 57

bushwacker 57

I can remember like 59 or 60 a mechanic who worked for parkes auto elect in san rafael cali had 1950 chev bus coupe with new crate 57 packard 2-4 caribean motor with a 37 floor box never forgot that car.

4. classicfins

classicfins

I was just logging on to ask a similar question. I am looking at a 1956 Packard 352 V8 with the original Ultramatic tranny. Probably can get it cheap and was thinking of stashing it back for a future T project. I was wondering if they were any good as a hot rod engine, dependable, not worth fooling with, etc. Anyone with experience or stories please chime in! :)

5. Jeff Norwell

Jeff Norwell
    Staff Member

Yep.. out of Windsor.. built in the 50's and it was called the "Patrician"

6. Uhhh... There aren't too many street rods on this board (thank god) but T-bone has it right, Nads has been driving a Packard powered Hot Rod for years.

7. speedtool

speedtool
    BANNED

A member of our Stude club just bought one, and right now he has it blown apart fixing all the stuff the builder butched up.

Clay Belt likes this.