Register now to get rid of these ads!

engine ground straps

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by andy 'lowlife inc.", Dec 10, 2008.

1. andy 'lowlife inc."

andy 'lowlife inc."
    from santa cruz

i have a 1953 chevy with a 350 sbc. i have heard from a few people that i should have 4 engine to body ground straps. any truth to this? i just put the engine in the car and am ready to do some testing, but want to make sure i'm doing everything right. i thought that two ground straps would be fine. (one from the passenger valve cover to the firewall, the other from the engine block to the inner fender well.) any thoughts and comments would be appreciated. this is my first build and i am trying to be patient and do it right.
    thanks
    andy

2. plym49

plym49
    from Earth

If by grounding to the valve cover you mean to sheet metal, I 'd suggest that you ground to a solid bolt, for example where your alternator bracket attaches to the block. Something heavy like that. Make sure you have good clean metal to metal contact.

One ground between engine and frame is sufficient if it is good enough. Also, you want to ground it to the frame, not to the sheet metal of the car.

Ever see a car try to crank with no engine to frame gound? Usually the throttle linkage or something like that starts smoking, because the starter current is finding its way to the frame wherever it can.

3. Dirty2

Dirty2

You need a ground from batt. to block , block to frame and block to body .

4. dirtbag13

dirtbag13

yeah i would say one good ground from a unused hole somewhere on the engine block to the frame , one from the battery to the engine, and one from the body to the frame shound be sufficient as long as you use quality terminals and have a clean grounding surface !

5. plym49

plym49
    from Earth

Yes, but also depends on where the battery is mounted. Could be in the trunk; no need to run a ground cable all the way up front.