Register now to get rid of these ads!

Engine Freshening Recommendations

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by alwayzarat, Mar 30, 2013.

1. alwayzarat

alwayzarat

I've got a Chevy 350 I'm running with double hump heads, edelbrock performer intake, edelbrock 1406 600cfm carb, hooker longtubes, and an unknown "RV" spec cam.

I want to keep the intake/carb setup and upgrade the cam and heads. I like the traditional look of iron heads, and am considering a set of Dart Iron Eagle SS heads from Aerohead Racing.

I'm looking for some cam recommendations and if the components I've mentioned fit the theme for a good street car with torque in the lower power band.

I estimate my current compression ratio with the 64cc double hump heads to be around 9.5:1, although I won't know for sure until I see what type of pistons I currently have. I've learned a lot on here, but I'm still a novice at best. Any recommendations or guidance are greatly appreciated.

I'm on a tight budget for this build, so I think the price of rebuilding the double hump heads, valve job, and porting is out of the question.

2. big duece

big duece
    from kansas

The price of rebuilding your double bumpers is going to be more than the Iron eagles you speak of, and the Eagles probably will perform better. But the dollar difference will be similar. For low to midrange power, I think any duration under 220 @ .050 lift would be good. Just look at cam profiles that the RPM band starts at idle or 1000.

3. hoop98

hoop98
    from Texas

The Equalizer Retrofit Vortecs might be worth a look, much better ports and chamber but will fit your 350 stuff.

[​IMG]