Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Engine Advise for a 671 Blower.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bonehead II, Dec 23, 2019.

1. Bonehead II

Bonehead II

Hi Guys...need your advice on building SBC engine for my 671 Blower. An '87 and newer block 4 bolt main and one piece rear seal, Hope a Gen 1 intake will fit ?.
    Forged crank with BBC snout...Forged rods.... Forged 8:1 or 8:5:1 pistons,...This motor is for street, well 90% street . Also heads and valve size would be good as well . I have never built a blower motor before, so any advice would be appreciate. Or just go buy a crate motor, change the cam and have fun.
    Thanks...Mike

2. Sounds like a good plan,,,seems like you are going in the right direction on strong parts.
    I would keep the compression low to utilize the full effect of the blower on the street.
    Build your block as strong as possible,,,that is the foundation and it will catch a lot of abuse from the boost pressure.

One thing though ,,,why the big block crank snout ?
    For a 90% street build,,,I thought a regular forged small block crank would suffice ?

There are a lot of talented people here,,,,they will help you plenty.

Tommy

3. DDDenny

DDDenny
    from oregon

There are two camps when it comes to blown street cars, the ones that want to look racy and the ones that are racy, some can pull off both, it's hard to advise without knowing your full plan.
    As for a crate motor you want one that will stand up to the pressure a supercharger can deliver and I doubt the oem versions are up to that.
    Many of the big name engine builders offer "crate engines" also, some spec'd for blowers.

4. DOCTOR SATAN

DOCTOR SATAN
    from okc

Depends how much boost ya wanna run as to how stout it needs to be....I have heard of using a crate motor with low boost, under driven.....

5. panhead_pete

panhead_pete
    ALLIANCE MEMBER