Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Electrolysis de-rusting questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by stmotorsports, Sep 1, 2016.

?
  1. Get rid of it

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Safe to leave it

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Doesn't matter either way

100.0%
  1. stmotorsports

stmotorsports

Alright so this is my first time experimenting with this and it seems to be doing an amazing job so far. My biggest and most immediate question is- the black stuff left in place of the rust notably in the real deep pitted spots, is there any advantage to removing that stuff all the way down to clean bare metal before prepping/priming/etc? Or is it safe to leave it? I have heard completely opposite ends of opinions on this, looking for 100% fact. What's the "right" answer?

Thanks in advance

2. Mike51Merc

Mike51Merc

The black stuff will wash away with soapy water. I'd clean it, if for no other reason than it is not "attached" to the metal.

3. stmotorsports

stmotorsports

I'm not talking about the loose coating of residue left on the surface, but the actual hard black material that the reaction turns the rust into. I've worked with chelators before (ie- evaporust, d-rust-it, etc) and they leave the metal the same way. It is supposedly an inert material that is mostly made up of the remaining carbon after the oxidized iron is removed/neutralized. It's still pretty well attached and would require wire wheeling/grinding/blasting to remove it

4. Mike51Merc

Mike51Merc

My experience is that the stuff washes away with soapy water, or in some cases with a pressure washer, leaving a plain grey steel finish. Give it a try, if it doesn't come off easily I'd leave it and prime/paint over it.

C. John Stutzer likes this.

5. boring-hop-yard

boring-hop-yard

My experience has been the same as Mike51Merc,.
    I also use metal prep after de-rust sometimes, depends on the primer i'm using.