Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Early style GM turn switch terminals

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bigchuck, Nov 24, 2021.

  1. Bigchuck
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 1,153

    Bigchuck
    Member
    from Austin, TX

    Anybody know where to get early style GM turn switch terminals?
    I have lots of the later style ones but, can't seem to locate these.
    20211124_115920.jpg 20211124_115933.jpg
     
  2. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,680

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    You could clip these and solder them to the new wire. How many do you need
     
  3. Private message sent
     
  4. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,245

    squirrel
    Member


  5. Johnny Gee
    Joined: Dec 3, 2009
    Posts: 9,565

    Johnny Gee
    Member
    from Downey, Ca

    ^^^^^ 69 and up wasn't it?
     
  6. 302GMC
    Joined: Dec 15, 2005
    Posts: 7,024

    302GMC
    Member
    from Idaho

    I saved a bunch of '54 up GM wiring harnesses salvaged from crushers. I splice in the last 4'' - 6'' of the wire into the loom & shrink wrap ..
     
  7. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,245

    squirrel
    Member

    I think they used that terminal on the firewall connector on 61 chevy cars, as well.
     
    Johnny Gee likes this.
  8. Mr48chev
    Joined: Dec 28, 2007
    Posts: 30,185

    Mr48chev
    Member

  9. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,245

    squirrel
    Member

    that's the Packard 56 terminal, which was used on many GM turn signal switches over the years...including all the early Chevys (1950s).

    He's after something else, though.
     
  10. Bigchuck
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 1,153

    Bigchuck
    Member
    from Austin, TX

  11. Bigchuck
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 1,153

    Bigchuck
    Member
    from Austin, TX

    Here is another pic. I found on the web of the same terminals I want but, in a firewall plug instead of the turn switch. The new turn switch I have has these. So did the original wiring harness in the car. So, I salvaged the connector shell and want the terminal to use with the new wiring harness. That style turn switch connector is curved to fit around the column. The ones commonly see in most kits are the long, flat ones. Yes, I could cut and splice the ones from the old harness but, I am doing a resto on this car and trying not to hack anything. connectors.JPG
     
  12. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 50,245

    squirrel
    Member

    that's what I was talking about above, this is a pic of a 61 Chevy firewall connector

    chevrolet-impala-hardtop-1961-1.jpg
     
  13. Dennis D
    Joined: May 2, 2009
    Posts: 797

    Dennis D
    Member

    Look on lectriclimited website. I bought a repair kit for a fuse panel and it came with the terminals. Some of their stuff they won't sell though, like the headlight connector plastic for a midyear Corvette. Never mind, I looked and they don't supply the terminals without the fuse block. Big bucks! I reached out to them to see if they will sell me any of the terminals since I bought one of the fuse block kits. Maybe they will feel sorry for me, who knows! I will let you know what I find out. D
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2021
  14. Bigchuck
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 1,153

    Bigchuck
    Member
    from Austin, TX

    switch-turn-signal-67-68-gm-cars-wcornering-kr00413.jpg
    I have the switch, installed already. I have the shell the switch plugs into from the original harness. When I install the new harness, I was hoping to use the matching shell to the new turn switch. To do that I need the correct terminals to crimp onto the new harness and install into the old/original shell so I can plug the turn signal switch into it.
     
  15. 427 sleeper
    Joined: Mar 8, 2017
    Posts: 1,424

    427 sleeper
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Doesn't the new harness have the connector on it already? Or are you using a universal type harness?
     
  16. Johnny Gee
    Joined: Dec 3, 2009
    Posts: 9,565

    Johnny Gee
    Member
    from Downey, Ca

    pprather and squirrel like this.
  17. Bigchuck
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 1,153

    Bigchuck
    Member
    from Austin, TX

    Going to use the direct replacement harness. It however, uses the generic rectangular type connector..
     
  18. Bigchuck
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 1,153

    Bigchuck
    Member
    from Austin, TX

    That is it. Thanks.
     
  19. When you order the Direct Replacement harness, just tell American Autowire to use the turn signal connector that you need, on the harness they build for you.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.