Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Early Olds motors

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bskustoms, Mar 17, 2015.

1. Was told about a guy by the name of "Paul" on the main board who could help me with application of intakes on the early Olds motors..Have a 6X2's Cragar Intake and need to know more about it. Any help would be appreciated.

2. If you post some pictures of it, or at least the numbers that are stamped on it, you will get some more feedback. A few of us Rocketeers on here... @Paul @GOATROPER02 @F&J @Martin_F

3. What size engine are you talking about, and what year intake?
    Here are some port dimensions:
    303: 1-1/8 x 1-5/8
    324: 1-1/8 x 2
    early 371: 1-1/4 x 2
    late 371 and 394: 1-3/8 x 2-1/2

@Paul posted them here some time ago...

4. I am no expert but I think that the intakes were interchangeable until the late 371/394 motors.

We would still need more info then it is an olds manifold, pictures really help.

5. Paul

Paul
    Editor

There are a few very knowledgeable Olds guys here,
    Basically the log style (two piece) manifolds can be broken into three groups, 49-53 303 with small ports, 54-58 324 and early 371 with mid sized ports, and 59-64 late 371 and 394 with large ports.

6. There ya go.

7. F&J

F&J

IMG_0272 (Medium).JPG DSCN1758.JPG

I'm no expert either, but that's sort of a true statement, ..."If" a person wants to slightly modify things, then those "can" be made to work,.... and it was done back in the "good old" days...