Register now to get rid of these ads!

Dynaflow shuffle - who's the experts?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by FSHTNK, May 18, 2009.

  1. FSHTNK
    Joined: Apr 8, 2008
    Posts: 75

    FSHTNK
    Member

    My '57 Buick has original 364 & Dynaflow. The Dynaflow needs a rebuild, and for that matter so does the 364.
    Question. Can I utilise a '62 401/Dynaflow, and retain my torque tube setup. I.e. I'm wondering if i can swap the output from my dynaflow over to the later model one.

    Converting to an open drive shaft seems a very expensive option, when i have just spent major bucks on the '57 diff.:(

    Anyone know if this dynaflow swap is posible? or alternatively, has anyone made an adaptor for the torque tube to a Th400?
     
  2. FSHTNK
    Joined: Apr 8, 2008
    Posts: 75

    FSHTNK
    Member

    Bump - The engines I've found are actually '63's - anyone know if the tailhousings on the different Dynaflows will interchange?
     
  3. haulAss or GTFO
    Joined: Feb 27, 2009
    Posts: 59

    haulAss or GTFO
    Member

    to be honest i'm pretty sure you cant at least that what i'm told
    i was gonna buy a later dynaflow for my 55' and i was told it wouldnt work
     
  4. Yeah, but the bolt pattern changes from '56 to '57, that's why it doesn't work for a '55. I was going to say the '63 would bolt to a '57 motor but I see you want to change the motor too, and I'm not sure if the front mounts stayed the same from '57-'66, although I'd be kind of surprised if it did.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Dynaflash_8
    Joined: Sep 24, 2008
    Posts: 3,010

    Dynaflash_8
    Member
    from Auburn WA

    I have a rebuild kit for a 55 dynaflow, if that might help
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.