Register now to get rid of these ads!

Drum brakes?!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 65ssnova, Feb 9, 2013.

1. 65ssnova

65ssnova
    from Tulsa OK

Im new to my 65 novas full drum brake system. Ive bled the brakes with all new wheel cylinders and pads springs etc all new. But im having a problem... When i push the brakes while "Trying" to stop the front passenger side pulls hard to the right, like hard enough i have to rip the wheel to the left to stay on the road :mad: any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

2. Adjustment? Did you get any grease or fluid on the lining?

3. greaseyknight

greaseyknight
    from Burley WA

Did you adjust the shoes correctly? Drums need to be adjusted prior to use. Its also possible that you put something together wrong.

How old are the soft lines? One could be collapsed and causing the problem

4. fastcar1953

fastcar1953

does it pull all the time or just when you brake? did you mess with the wheel bearings? they may be to tight.

5. black 62

black 62
    from arkansas

sounds like an adjustment problem---make sure both front brakes are working

6. gas pumper

gas pumper

Did you arc the new shoes to the drums? Cut the drums? Put the short shoe on the wrong end? Put the chineese puzzle of springs back together right?

7. 65ssnova

65ssnova
    from Tulsa OK

The Drums move like they should, the bearings arent bad they spin smoothly. How do i need to set them? It only pulls when i push the brakes,Rides smooth until i push them.

8. Let me throw another scenario out there that has happened to me in the past,,so you have new wheel cylinders,brake shoes and know all the springs and adjusters are correct and it's pulling to one side when you apply the brakes.

What did you over look?

Odds are the car still has the original brake line hoses and over that many years the rubber deteriorates and dissolves resulting in the inside of the hose collapsing.