Register now to get rid of these ads!

Drip Rail Removal Help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrodjim, Aug 15, 2008.

1. hotrodjim

hotrodjim

I am looking for some input here. I am going to remove the drip rails on my 46 Merc coupe. I have never done this before. Here's what it looks like to me. The roof and the body appear to be turned into the inteior at the seam and welded. The drip rail is sandwiched in between.
    My thought is to start at the front of the door using my air saw and slice the drip rail off flush all the way back. Then I will clean out any rust, weld up any gaps then fill.
    Am I missing anything here? Any surprises I am not seeing? The roof will stay connected to the body, correct?
    Any help, advice, or thoughts are greatly appreciated
    Thanks

2. yorgatron

yorgatron
    Member Emeritus

you should do a search,there was a thread awhile back about how to replace a driprail on a car where it had been removed.
    you should think about leaving it alone and performing some other modifications in the meantime that won't completely fuck up a perfectly good car...:rolleyes:

3. TinWolf

TinWolf
    from Sweden

Hi !
    Are you building a custom , driprail removal is a must , I dont know one cool custom built around 1950 that had the driprail still attached . Sometimes I wonder why its obvious to some guys to remove the hood bird and not the driprail . Probably because its MUCH more hazzle . If the car has a unrusted body its not that big of a deal but I chopped a eastcoast -40 Merc and removed the driprails and revield a ton of trouble , rust and partial parting . I grinded away as much rust as I dared and then filled the gap with a welding rod 1/8" that I carfully tackwelded with the MIG welder . I know hi end builds need to use TIG weld but that I use out in the open skin and hammer afterwards and not where there is rust and no possibility to afterwork the weld which leads to warpage !