Register now to get rid of these ads!

Drilling an Axle for My '34 5 Window Project

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 4ever18, Mar 14, 2011.

1. 4ever18

4ever18

Drilled Model A Axle.jpg new 34 Ford 5 window coupe 023.jpg For a long time, I've been gathering parts for a 1934 Ford 5 window coupe project. My car is being built along the style of a early/mid 60's style drag car. This means that I want the nose up, rather than down. I wanted a drilled & chromed beam axle, along with chrome hairpins. This meant that I'd be drilling an original Ford axle, rather than buying one of the new aftermarket versions, which could be purchased with the holes already in it and chrome plated. A friend gave me a nice Model A axle for this project.

I began the project by finding the center of the axle, center punching the location for the center hole, and laying out the location of the other holes - working from the center out to each side. When center punching the location for the other holes, I noticed that the shape of the valley area of these old axles isn't uniform - which makes centering the hole more difficult. The arc of the hole pattern has to match the arch of the axle or you'll end up with a crooked smile pattern in the axle. After marking and center punching each hole location, I began the process of drilling the holes. I started with a 1/8" bit and worked my way up through 5/8" diameter bits. At this time, I noticed two things - #1 being that the larger diameter holes are a bear to drill and #2 was that I'd gotten a couple of the holes off-center. I then decided to take a break from this project and ponder how I wanted to proceed. At 5/8" diameter, I'm still a good distance away from the desired finished hole diameter of 1".