Register now to get rid of these ads!

Drag tech/advice in Sacramento

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Eddie's chop shop, Feb 1, 2007.

1. Eddie's chop shop

Eddie's chop shop

I am building a semi-traditional model A. I would really like to be able to run some 9 sec passes when its all done. I have zero experience with drag cars so if someone in the Sacramento area would be willing to come by and check out where I am at and give some pointers I would really appreciate it

Appreciate meaning beer and pizza!!!

Here is where I am at so far. This thing is really a street car, but I want it run as well.

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=153028

2. Eddie's chop shop

Eddie's chop shop

3. I don't know what rules the track at Sacramento follows, might be NHRA, IHRA, their own rules, some nostalgia class rules. But, if you find out, you can probably pick up a rulebook that'll tell you all the stuff you need to pass tech inspection. The faster you go, the more safety stuff you need. I haven't drag raced sinced they shut down Fremont Drag Strip, but I remember when I raced in some simple bracket racing or grudge nights, the rules were pretty simple. You needed a helmet. The studs that hold your wheels on must go all the way through the lug nuts. Your battery has to be tied down securely. You have to put your top up if it's a convertible. You have to have seat belts. But once you get faster than a certain speed, you need more and more safety equipment. If you think you can actually go 9 seconds, there's a ton of stuff you'll need, a fire suit, a roll cage (not just a roll bar), a 5 point harness, an approved helmet, and blah blah blah. I'm going to throw out a guess that you're probably not going to go any better than 12 seconds on the first try.