Register now to get rid of these ads!

Does tube axle take Chevy or Ford spindles

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Phil1934, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. Phil1934
    Joined: Jun 24, 2001
    Posts: 2,717

    Phil1934
    Member

    I got an old tube axle with my Bantam body, probably FLA Rod Shop. I was told it was for Ford spindles, but I have 1/4" vertical gap between spindle and axle (2" axle boss) and kingpin has 1/32" clearance in axle. Axle had a setscrew instead of locking pin. Spindle does appear to be horizontal on this axle. Do I just need to bush axle and get some shims?
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  2. Deuce Roadster
    Joined: Sep 8, 2002
    Posts: 9,519

    Deuce Roadster
    Member Emeritus

    There are some axles that were made to use the earlier Chevrolet spindles. I had one years ago under a 32 I bought. It used 53 - 54 Chevrolet car spindles. The axles have a different king-pin angle on them ... and if you adapt the Ford spindles to those axles ... the wheels look like they are way wrong ( top to bottom ) ... to much to straighten by bending the axle :rolleyes:
     
  3. Phil1934
    Joined: Jun 24, 2001
    Posts: 2,717

    Phil1934
    Member

    Looks like Ford kingpin is 0.812" and Chevy is 0.867". I guess I'll get a 6" drop
    Ford axle and put this 3" drop Chevy in classifieds.
     
  4. wheels777
    Joined: Oct 29, 2008
    Posts: 177

    wheels777
    Member
    from York, PA

    I picked up a roadster recently. It has a tubular straight axle the king pin bore is .867. The best I can tell, the king pin angle is 4.1 degrees. Does this match a 53-54 Chevrolet splindle?
     

  5. Phil1934
    Joined: Jun 24, 2001
    Posts: 2,717

    Phil1934
    Member

  6. Don's Hot Rods
    Joined: Oct 7, 2005
    Posts: 8,319

    Don's Hot Rods
    Member
    from florida

    Generally, when they have the set screw they are for Chevy spindles. I think the year range is 49-54.


    Don
     
  7. wheels777
    Joined: Oct 29, 2008
    Posts: 177

    wheels777
    Member
    from York, PA

    Don, Yes it has a set screw. Thanks.
    Phil, Great article. Thanks.

    Great news for me, I have a bunch of Chevy axles and brakes for the tubular axle.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.