Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Do these gears need to be replaced?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by voodookustoms, Nov 23, 2015.

1. How do these gears look to you guys? This is from my 1954 Ford Victoria.
    Is that chunk bad enough to replace the whole thing? I don't know if it would actually effect the feel, or the safety? But this is my first time doing this. This is the steering gear. ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1448340256.292431.jpg
    And another view showing some uneven wearing ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1448340326.974800.jpg
    To me, the sector gear looks pretty good.
    ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1448340361.408456.jpg
    But there is some slight marring on the sector shaft.
    ImageUploadedByH.A.M.B.1448340386.708250.jpg
    If they look good enough to keep using, obviously that would be much better for me. Cheaper, and I don't have access to a hydraulic press so I will be searching for someone in my area who does have one if they do need to be replaced.
    Thanks for any input. I'm learning as I go.

2. squirrel

squirrel

what does that shaft ride in...a bronze bushing? how does it fit?

the chunk missing from the gear, in the center of travel, will probably affect the feel and tightness of the steering box. If you can find another one in better condition, it would be good to swap it.

3. manyolcars

manyolcars

Have you driven it? Mine had two chips out of the worm and I could feel it so I replaced it

4. The shaft rides in needle bearings. It felt a little sloppy. I'll be replacing those for sure.
    And yes I've driven it like this. There was a little dead spot in the steering. Probably caused by this?
    Maybe it would be better to just replace them both. There are kits with everything new.

5. Blues4U

Blues4U
    from So Cal