Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Do I need a new steering box or linkage?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Cultleader, Oct 13, 2016.

1. Cultleader

Cultleader

Hello I have a 1950 ford 4door and have a good 4-5 inches of play in my steering. Just wondering how I can tell if it's the steering box or a linkage issue or? I was about to order a steering box on the advice of a random person but figured I would get a second opinion before I drop 500 bucks. I am a newb for sure but have some technical apt. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks

2. 117harv

117harv

There are many pivoting joints on the front end, a small amount of play in each will add up. Get the front end up in the air and have someone turn the wheel back and fourth while you look at all the joints, you will see what needs replacing. The box may need an adjustment as well.

3. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

It is probably a combination of all of the front suspension and steering parts.

Get under the front with a flashlight, and have someone rock the steering wheel to and from the ends of the play, plus a little each way.

Examine every single movable component for play.

4. Cultleader

Cultleader

How do I adjust the steering box?

5. 208custom

208custom

On top of the box there is a large flathead adjuster bolt with a jam nut. That is the only adjustment I am aware of for these boxes.

6. deucemac

deucemac