Register now to get rid of these ads!

cracked off the nipple on the bleeder screw

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by greg_usa, Jul 31, 2011.

1. greg_usa

greg_usa
    from New York

Hey Fellas - trying to get the wheel cylinder off my 51 plymouth. Was trying to get the bleeder screw out so that I'd be able to turn the cylinder itself so i can get it disconnected off the brake line of the other side of the backing plate.

Anyway - the nipple cracked off and I'm having a really hard time now getting a grip on it to get it off. Any reccomendations on what to try here?

Drill it? Heat it up? One thing I was thinking... there is a notch through the backplate that the bleeder screw goes through. If I drilled that notch a little bigger I can probably get the wheel cylinder off and have a lot more room to get at the bleeder screw. Is that a bad idea?

Once again... bear with me and any stupid questions as a I'm a newbie. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks fellas!

2. boldventure

boldventure

3. propwash

propwash
    from Las Vegas

are the flats still on the nut? If so, there is a broached EZ out tapered with machined cutting/snagging edges on all four sides that may fit in the remnants of the bleeder screw. Other option is to drill it out a little bit and try that EZ out or one of the reverse threaded type. You can always just grind off the part of the bleeder screw that is apparently not allowing you to remove that cylinder and then take off the two mounting bolts. Keep in mind that if you do any drilling or grinding, you'll have to completely clean and rebuild that cylinder.

Good luck...these sort of problems are what separate the complacent mechanic from the one that teaches everyone within earshot new and disgusting words.

dj

4. aaggie

aaggie
    ALLIANCE MEMBER