Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Coats 700 balancer brake is hanging up

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Docfranknstein, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. Docfranknstein
    Joined: Jun 30, 2002
    Posts: 294

    Docfranknstein
    Member

    Anybody else have one? can the brake be disabled? I know the brake is electric, but I'm not sure what wire to pull and if I did that if it would effect the opperation of the balancer. Von Doc
     
    scott34 likes this.
  2. blowby
    Joined: Dec 27, 2012
    Posts: 7,961

    blowby
    Member
    from Nicasio Ca

    Bump. This is a long, long shot..I'd like to use my Coats 1000 to sand and polish some torque thrust rims. My lathe won't swing them. Wondering if there is a diagnostic code I can punch it to make it spin continuously. I emailed Coats, got no reply.
     
  3. k9racer
    Joined: Jan 20, 2003
    Posts: 3,091

    k9racer
    Member

    I have used a brake lathe for splitting wheels This has clearance of around 16 plus inches so I would guess that you could use for polishing. if you have acess to one. One other thing is dangerous but will work. Mount wheel on car then put in lowest gear with the wheel turning while chocked well and on good jack stands. then do polishing As far as the switch and windings on the electric motor may not have enough venlation to cool the unit for long periods of use .
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.