Register now to get rid of these ads!

Chevy three speeds ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by buick320a, Apr 25, 2008.

1. buick320a

buick320a
    from indiana

Did any of the chevy three speed transmission come with a synchronized low gear ?

2. R Pope

R Pope

Yep, the later Saginaw's are full synchro. Somewhere around '64, '65 they changed. Pickups used 'em too. Right up into the '80's.

3. DuckusCrapus

DuckusCrapus

I was stuck on using a 3 speed in my T. I originally had a '57 Chevy 3-speed, but with no synchro in 1st and no trans crossmember mount I decided to go with the later model Saginaw. They are cheap! I have been beating the snot out of mine for a few years now and never had a problem.

DuckusCrapus

4. HEATHEN

HEATHEN
    from SIDNEY, NY

Saginaw three speed with synchro low gear came out in the '66 models, and a Saginaw with overdrive was available from 1966-71.

5. Phil1934

Phil1934

My neighbor has a '57 and wants a synchronized 1st. Are there any mods needed, or are shift arms, yoke spline and length the same?

6. R Pope

R Pope

Not sure about drlveshaft length, but the front stuff all works, clutch, bell, shift linkage.

7. DuckusCrapus

DuckusCrapus

The only mod I had to make was to change the front bearing retainer on the Saginaw 3 speed. It had the larger diameter one on it stock ('70's something Nova). I got the smaller bearing retainer at a local trans shop for $20 new. They interchange with no mods.

If I remember right....I thought the '57 3 speed was longer than the Saginaw...but I didn't have a drive shaft made until I swapped transmissions. I am sure someone on here will know.

DuckusCrapus

8. i think the output shaft splines are different and the shift arm locations are way different.

Attached Files:

9. Truckedup

Truckedup