Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Chevy Small Block Motor Mount Measurement

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by bartmcneill, Oct 29, 2016.

1. bartmcneill

bartmcneill
    from Ada, OK

Can someone confirm that the distance between a Chevy 350 small block motor mount bolts are 16.5 inches apart? I've looked for an hour for this information and I know I am not good at searching but I think this is the measurement I found on a Nova Website. I have a Pete and Jakes frame that I have to install a new front cross member in and need to know the measurement between the engine mount holes for certain. Really want the engine to go back in right.

2. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

3. thepoz57

thepoz57

why not use an engine hoist and blocks to mock up the engine where you want it? your motor mounts are going to dictate the exact distance, and each set brand of mounts are different. that way you can tack weld it in, remove the engine and weld it up. it will be exactly where you think it should be.

swade41, wedjim and LOU WELLS like this.
  4. squirrel

squirrel

Depends what mounts you use, there are a few different ones.

I can't imagine trying to build motor mounts without having the motor and everything else in place, so I can put them where they belong.

5. if you are using the motor mounts that pete & jakes recommend 16-1/2 will work fine..... i have a fixture i made to hold them to that

Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  6. This ^^^
    For sure this

7. big duece

big duece
    from kansas

Johnny Gee likes this.
  8. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

I've opened the link but since I'm not knowing what to look for can you tell me/us which application so I/we can see this 16 1/2" that is important but not important enough to use a mock up block. I think once this is out in the open all will be revealed.

9. click on 2005 and you will see that 16-1/2 dimension he is looking for