Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Chevy Hardtop Chop

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by Grant_Maclean, Aug 31, 2014.

1. Grant_Maclean

Grant_Maclean

So the time has come to cut the roof up. I've never done this before so I'm sure I'll run into a lot of problems but I can no longer stand looking at the ugly roof line.
    This photo was taken a few weeks ago, just after I got back from Greazefest. Roughly 1400km trip over one weekend, big trip for a 216.
    [​IMG]

2. Grant_Maclean

Grant_Maclean

Car stripped and braced.[​IMG]
    Roof off.
    [​IMG]

kiwijeff likes this.
  3. F-ONE

F-ONE
    from Alabama

Likely a very difficult car to chop, I hope you have done your homework. If it goes south you could always do a roadster or convertible as the the Bel Air and convertible shared many attributes.
    http://www.kustomrama.com/index.php?title=Larry_Ernst's_1951_Chevrolet

4. Grant_Maclean

Grant_Maclean

I have done a fair amount of research. I've looked at every chopped hardtop I can find to decide how to go about it.

Turbo26T likes this.

5. Grant_Maclean

Grant_Maclean

[​IMG]
    Found this when I stripped it down. So that set me back a little while. Had to do both sides.

6. CadMad

CadMad

Go Queenslander!

Outback likes this.
  7. Grant_Maclean

Grant_Maclean

[​IMG]
    New section welded in.

I decided to keep the original rear glass and sink it into the quarter panels. It has, and will continue to make a whole heap of work for me. But it will make getting glass easier and I can't really afford to get the rear glass cut at the moment.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Rear screen screwed in place ( Clecos are for rich people)

[​IMG]

kiwijeff and straykatkustoms like this.
  8. Grant_Maclean

Grant_Maclean

[​IMG]
    Paper pattern of the cat walk area. I think there's about 4"going into it.