Register now to get rid of these ads!

Chevron Atlas Parts

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dave Galassi, Jun 8, 2011.

1. Dave Galassi

Dave Galassi

I've got a set of Atlas tires on an old Hudson I bought and it also has an Atlas battery in it. Now, I remember Chevron Gas Stations out here (California) selling these parts, but did they also sell other parts as well (ignition, brakes, seals, etc.)? Just wondering if anyone knows the history on them.
    I saw an ad for an Atlas parts and accessories brochure and wondered about it.

2. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I want to believe that they did have a line of ignition parts and branded filters.
    Up into the mid 60's a lot of people took their cars to the gas station for almost everything. Lube & oil changes, tune ups and tires. When I was a sophomore in auto shop class the instructor told us that to succeed at time a full service gas station needed 24 faithful customers that took their cars to it for everything that was done on that car. 50 years later it's almost impossible to find a full service gas station in this area. I think there may be one here in town.

3. Butch/1

Butch/1
    from Dublin ,Va

Esso sold Atlas when I was younger, they had several grades of tires and batteries. The top grade tire was the Atlas Bucron, it was guaranteed not to squeal, you could leave a black mark 50 ft., and never make a sound. God I'm getting old.

4. Dave Galassi

Dave Galassi

Thanks. Still wonder what else they sold. Accessories? Parts? Anyone ever seen a catalog?

5. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

6. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

[​IMG]

only tires and batteries on ebay.

7. I have hundreds of NOS Atlas seals.

8. Bigcheese327

Bigcheese327