Register now to get rid of these ads!

Carson Top Project 52 Chevy Deluxe 2 Door Sedan

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 52carsontop, Nov 6, 2011.

1. 52carsontop

52carsontop
    from East TN

A little intro, bought a 52 chevy deluxe 2 door sedan a few months ago. This is my first project. Figured I would just jump right in and learn as I go from mistakes and from the forum. Someone had the great idea to cut the top of of it. Say they did not realize what they were getting into... :eek: Someone before the last owner installed a 350 engine and 350 turbo trans. It has a subframe installed from who knows what.

From reading on here I learned I needed to stenghten the frame. So I added bracing to the frame and to the door post behind the front bench seat. Everything seems to be nice and strong.

Now to the carson top. This took me about 7 hours from the begining to the most recent picture. Built the frame using 1/2" conduit. Bent the conduit with my .... knee.... Yes it hurts now. Bought a tool to bent it but found I could judge and manage the bents a lot better with my knee.

Wanted to post pictures so I can get some advice from the guys that know. Like I said I have never dealt with metal and have only done a little welding. So I am asking for your opinion which I am sure you would give even if I did not ask... :rolleyes:

Everything is tacked in so if something needs to be change I can do it without a problem. Let me know what you think!!

Had a large roll of paper that I used to cover it. Did the best I could. ha
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 52carsontop

52carsontop
    from East TN

By the way have yet to work with the rear window. Trying to figure out what I want there.

3. swissmike

swissmike