Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Cars of Cuba

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by "Wally", Nov 21, 2020.

1. "Wally"

"Wally"

Thought folks would like to see these. The stories of lost time capsules in Cuba are true. As a professional motorsports photographer I jumped at a chance to do a photo shoot in Cuba in 2016.
    There was also a Major World Event while I was there, right place right time. Here's a few Hope the link works.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ZkDHqMQB73qElaYj1

"Wally" Cars of Cuba #1-0603.jpg

2. Casey Riley

Casey Riley
    from Minnesota

3. jimmy six

jimmy six
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

They never let any of them die... that’s for sure.

VANDENPLAS likes this.
  4. Linda (my wife) and I were able to spend a week in Cuba a couple of years ago. It's kind of like stepping back in time being there. Lots of older cars used for taxies. All of them seem to be in pretty good mechanical condition, but I did see some bodywork that looked like I did it. :eek:

Some of the drivers new a lot about the cars and others just knew they were driving "an old American car". This '56 Chrysler we rode in a few times was powered by a Perkins diesel with a 5 speed manual trans. The driver didn't have to sing to entertain us on the trips, the rear end was singing it's own song going down the road. :) 100_0845.JPG

5. dana barlow

dana barlow
    from Miami Fla.
    1. Y-blocks

A make it work with what ever can be found,cars in CUBA today are likely to have any type engine out of anything,not always USA,can be using USSR,China any thing under the hood.

6. Lol
    Saw a 57 Chevy in pristine condition come clanking into the resort i was at.
    Asked the guy what engine is in it.
    Told me “ iss alll horiginal from de factory 1957 chebrorelt”
    Told him Chevy didn’t make a diesel in the 50’s!!!
    He giggled and popped the hood said it was some Russian 4 cylinder diesel mated to the oh powerglide!!