Register now to get rid of these ads!

Car building checklist

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 4t64rd, Apr 12, 2006.

1. I have never built a car from the ground up before, but I'm in the middle of doing that now.

I know that some of you do this all the time... some even do this for a living.

Does anybody use a checklist to make sure that everything gets done and so everything is there when you need it? kinda like project management?

I've signed up for 2 classes this semster and I will be getting a new job on July 1, so my "garage sanity" down time is going to be precious, and I want to make the most of it.

2. Nads

Nads
    from Hypocrisy

Make sure you're wearing fresh underpants before you write the checklist.

3. Retrorod

Retrorod

I always make lists as I go. I start out with the basics once I decide how and what we are building. I usually start out with a chassis list, then I kinda cross reference things as I go because so many components involve fitting and pre-fabbing. You can build a rolling chassis but unless you have already thought about pedal placement, exhaust routing and stuff like that you can get all screwed up trying to finish the car. I hate re-doing critical components because of crappy placement. I like my cars to be drivable.

4. Chapulin

Chapulin
    from Hell Monte

When I was building my 30, I had list for my list. Electrical list, power train list, interior list, steering list...just keep your eye on the prize.

5. fur biscuit

fur biscuit
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

after you have made your checklist, double check it. :D

6. repoman

repoman

1. Big Fucking Hammer

2. Beer

3. Apprentice

4. Blow torch

5. Vice-grips

6. Car!

7. Beer

8. Helmet

9. Monkey

10. Alan Kalter
    [​IMG]

7. 29 sedanman

29 sedanman
    from Indy