Register now to get rid of these ads!

Canadian Parts SSN?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dirtydog, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. Dirtydog
    Joined: Feb 24, 2013
    Posts: 19

    Dirtydog
    Member
    from California

    I ordered and paid for straight axle from Lucky 7 in Canada. Now they are telling me that I need to provide my SSN for the shipment to pass through customs. Anyone ever heard of this? Identity theft is a big concern but whoa to he who ends up with my identity.
     
  2. NortonG
    Joined: Dec 26, 2003
    Posts: 2,117

    NortonG
    Member Emeritus

    Give them a call. I've never heard of that being needed before.

    Also, who's handling the brokerage?
     
  3. Dirtydog
    Joined: Feb 24, 2013
    Posts: 19

    Dirtydog
    Member
    from California

    Near North Customs Brokers US, Inc. is the name of the broker. I called UPS and was told this is a valid request. I was also told I could withhold that info and provide it to UPS instead of the broker when it arrives here. Seems like six of one or hald dozen of the other.
     
  4. roddin-shack
    Joined: Apr 12, 2006
    Posts: 2,451

    roddin-shack
    Member

    Lucky 7, is a straight up company. The request is not theirs, but one of the brokers needs and is not uncommon.
     

  5. oakhill
    Joined: Apr 1, 2012
    Posts: 218

    oakhill
    Member

    I've never bought anything from Canada but have shipped quite a bit to Canada. No SSN was involved. I just filled out the customs forms and sent it.
     
  6. 62nova
    Joined: Jul 13, 2008
    Posts: 343

    62nova
    Member

    Sounds like bull to me.
     
  7. NortonG
    Joined: Dec 26, 2003
    Posts: 2,117

    NortonG
    Member Emeritus

    Oddly I think I'd trust UPS with that info more than an independant broker.
     
  8. I think I would refuse to provide it.
     
  9. roddin-shack
    Joined: Apr 12, 2006
    Posts: 2,451

    roddin-shack
    Member

    We dont have SSN.s, and you did not ship through a 3rd party broker as in this transaction.
     
  10. alchemy
    Joined: Sep 27, 2002
    Posts: 18,031

    alchemy
    Member

    Can your driver's license or other ID number suffice?
     
  11. Unless the laws have changed in the last 5 or 6 years you don't need a social security number to go in either direction. I had an axle shipped to me from there and shipped tires to there no problems.

    It may be something that I am just too dumb to know about.

    If I got an email about it I would call whomever is in charge directly and find the number myself not just call the one in the email.
     
  12. Ford blue blood
    Joined: Jan 4, 2009
    Posts: 719

    Ford blue blood
    Member

    It is a valid request...they have different laws with respect to Customs and inport/export laws.
     
  13. NortonG
    Joined: Dec 26, 2003
    Posts: 2,117

    NortonG
    Member Emeritus

    I got to ask, why didn't UPS handle the brokerage??
     
  14. Poesrodandcustom
    Joined: Dec 11, 2012
    Posts: 192

    Poesrodandcustom
    Member
    from Kentucky

    Next time you need a Lucky 7 axle I keep a skid of each here in Ky. (I don't care what your SSN is). Just sayin
     
  15. i'd just buy it from one of their dealers here in the US that has already imported it
     
  16. oakhill
    Joined: Apr 1, 2012
    Posts: 218

    oakhill
    Member

    Yep, you're right. I still would have a problem giving out my SSN.
     
  17. oldrelics
    Joined: Apr 7, 2008
    Posts: 1,727

    oldrelics
    Member
    from Calgary

    I have shipped a few items via UPS to the US from Canada, NEVER had to provide personal info besides address......
     
  18. oakhill
    Joined: Apr 1, 2012
    Posts: 218

    oakhill
    Member

    Wait a minute, if you don't have a SSN, how do you know you're actually you. My head hurts, I'm going to go lay down.
     
  19. SquireDon
    Joined: Aug 8, 2010
    Posts: 600

    SquireDon
    Member
    from Oregon

    Because UPS Brokerage is extremely expensive. Usually 3rd party brokers are cheaper especially if you have an account with them.

    I send to Canada alot, and all my canada customers scream bloody murder about UPS Brokerage fees. Most supply me with a 3rd party broker that they use.
     
  20. NortonG
    Joined: Dec 26, 2003
    Posts: 2,117

    NortonG
    Member Emeritus

    I totally get that when things are coming up here.

    I had no idea it would be the same shit going that way too.
     
  21. HAHA you think UPS limits itself to only screwing it's customers on one side of the border:D.
     
  22. 2935ford
    Joined: Jan 6, 2006
    Posts: 3,749

    2935ford
    Member

    I have bought both directions while living in both countries.
    Never heard of such a request.
    They wouldn't get it from me!
     
  23. jstanotheidiot
    Joined: Oct 23, 2008
    Posts: 136

    jstanotheidiot
    Member

    Give them your phone number when they ask! How are they going to know the difference? Done deal.
     
  24. 36couper
    Joined: Nov 20, 2002
    Posts: 2,013

    36couper
    Member
    from ontario

    We don't have SSN we have SIN's. social insurance number.
    We probably have plenty of the other type is sins too ;)
     
  25. Rusty O'Toole
    Joined: Sep 17, 2006
    Posts: 9,614

    Rusty O'Toole
    Member

    Sounds like something new Homeland Security dreamed up. I doubt it comes from the Canadian side, SSN would mean nothing to them, while it would on the American side.

    You could call up your local customs office or maybe even the post office. There should be an 800 number or something where you can ask a question directly to the government agency involved. It's usually best to go right to headquarters and get the facts.
     
  26. Dirtydog
    Joined: Feb 24, 2013
    Posts: 19

    Dirtydog
    Member
    from California

    Well I did it. I gave my SSN. UPS said it was normal for shipments coming from Canada. If you can't trust the internet, who can you trust?
     
  27. Blue One
    Joined: Feb 6, 2010
    Posts: 11,272

    Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

    BS. Not needed to ship into or out of Canada.
     
  28. If you look at U.S. Customs in order for a broker to declare a formal entry into the US they require an IRS number or a SSN from the importer. If they are done informally it is not required. I would assume most courier companies do an informal entry while a broker probably does a formal one.

    What the difference is I have no idea but it is right on the U.S. Customs site that they are required so all the guys who are saying it is not are wrong. In some instances it is.
     
  29. oakhill
    Joined: Apr 1, 2012
    Posts: 218

    oakhill
    Member

    I trust my mom and my dog, that's about it.
     
  30. b-bob
    Joined: Nov 4, 2008
    Posts: 1,097

    b-bob
    Member

    Never heard of this before, if they asked for a SSN, i would think US customs. Canada would ask SIN if anything. Again, never heard of this before.
    Sounds like the customs are really getting formal.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.