Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Can we think of and Dry Lakes or Bonneville cars that ran a Columbia Two Speed Rear?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by JeffreyJames, Jun 25, 2012.

1. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames
    from SUGAR CITY

I'm looking for instances where Columbia Two Speed rear ends were perhaps used in vintage Bonneville or Dry Lakes cars? I've been collecting parts here and there for my '33 and a couple months ago I scooped up a '46-48 Columbia and it got me thinking that I actually don't think I've ever seen one in old pics of cars being ran out on the lakes.

Have you? Any significant cars run them? If so would they have been more popular prior to 46-48 when Halibrand started making Quickchanges?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,JJ

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 1turbobrick

1turbobrick

The Kurtis Tommy Lee Special has a Columbia 2-speed rear end in it...

3. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames
    from SUGAR CITY

Ok yeah that one came up in my search too. Thanks!!

So not too many? Anybody else run one?

4. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames
    from SUGAR CITY

Ok so 133 people have looked at this thread and not had any more examples. I think it's safe to say that they weren't popular and maybe even a very rare sight.

5. -Brent-

-Brent-

I want to say I've seen them in a photo or two but I'm terrible with owner names of the vintage stuff. I'd bet that they weren't as rare as you'd think with the lower-buck guys but (of course) not a highly visible aspect of the car.

6. SUHRsc

SUHRsc

The really fast guys converted the rearends to ball bearings instead of roller bearings...
    I have no real proof... but... I would think the Columbia is a lot of added friction in moving parts that they would have written off and gone for the less rolling resistance...

Seems though that some guys must've run them...

Though more popular with the custom crowd for street use....

7. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames
    from SUGAR CITY