Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects can i fit a 350 in my 1952 chevy truck?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jacob Lancaster, Mar 3, 2018.

  1. Jacob Lancaster
    Joined: Mar 3, 2018
    Posts: 2

    Jacob Lancaster

    i have a 1952 chevy 3100 truck ive been slowly working on over the years and im wanting to know, can i put a 350 in the truck?
     
    chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. WTF really
    Joined: Jul 9, 2017
    Posts: 1,197

    WTF really
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Shouldn't be a problem.
     
    Jacob Lancaster likes this.
  3. eaglebeak
    Joined: Sep 17, 2007
    Posts: 1,107

    eaglebeak
    Member

    How big is the box? You should be able to put several motors in there.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  4. Jacob Lancaster
    Joined: Mar 3, 2018
    Posts: 2

    Jacob Lancaster

  5. lilmann
    Joined: Apr 13, 2017
    Posts: 119

    lilmann

    No problems at all, I’ve got a 400 sbc in mine....if I can figure out how to upload pictures I’ll show ya!


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  6. anthony myrick
    Joined: Sep 4, 2009
    Posts: 5,464

    anthony myrick
    Member

    no



    just kidding, I had several in the bed of mine
     
  7. captainjunk#2
    Joined: Mar 13, 2008
    Posts: 4,354

    captainjunk#2
    Member

    as long as your not trying to slide it into the glove compartment
     
    zzford and anthony myrick like this.
  8. brigrat
    Joined: Nov 9, 2007
    Posts: 5,072

    brigrat
    Member
    from Wa.St.

    I would look for a 283.............................................
     
  9. anthony myrick
    Joined: Sep 4, 2009
    Posts: 5,464

    anthony myrick
    Member

    its smaller and easier to fit

    smiley face emoji
     
  10. brigrat
    Joined: Nov 9, 2007
    Posts: 5,072

    brigrat
    Member
    from Wa.St.

    All kidding aside pay close attention to water pump, pulley's, power steering pump? eating up the real estate between radiator and SBC. If you have to ask this question I can see way more info you will need.......................
     
  11. mopar362000
    Joined: Feb 14, 2008
    Posts: 88

    mopar362000
    Member

    are you using stock steering.If stock you have to offset enging to pass side 11/2 inchs space steering to outside of frame 3/4 of an inch.Tell us more of your plans for ad. jimmie king
     
  12. 56sedandelivery
    Joined: Nov 21, 2006
    Posts: 6,128

    56sedandelivery
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    From what I hear, you have to offset the engine to the passenger side. Just like the 49-54 Chevrolet CARS, the truck steering box is in the way. Might consider the 55-56 log style exhaust manifolds, or something that sweeps up and back, then down. Manual transmission or transamatic automission? I am Butch/56sedandelivery.
     
  13. ceege
    Joined: Jul 4, 2017
    Posts: 204

    ceege
    Member
    from NW MT

    Ya it will fit. Upgrading the engine to a pressurized oil system 6 banger and a 5-speed will make it more enjoyable to haul it around though.
     
  14. I don't know if you can fit a 350 in your truck. Plenty of folks have installed small block engines in Ad trucks. You might have the know how to do it?
     
  15. belair
    Joined: Jul 10, 2006
    Posts: 8,321

    belair
    Member

    Pay attention to the guys that said it need to move over a little to the passenger's side. They are right.
     
  16. Cosmo49
    Joined: Jan 15, 2007
    Posts: 1,133

    Cosmo49
    Member

    Asking that question is proof that you just arrived from another planet and you've never cracked open a hot rod magazine. I have a dd/only vehicle '49 3100 with an upgraded 1956 235, Fenton's, 2X2 Edelbrock, HEI ignition, '57 3.90 rear and a '69 3sp+od. Over 110,000 miles in this configuration over 20 years.
     
  17. Don't let them wear you down, Jacob. These folks will pull the wings off of bugs. And, yes, it can be done but spend a little time with the search function and you will have way more information than you bargained for.

    Welcome.
     
    zzford likes this.
  18. Don't knock it till youve tried it.
    It's best to pull just one wing:D:p
     
  19. Rickybop
    Joined: May 23, 2008
    Posts: 6,266

    Rickybop
    Member
    from Michigan

    Only if you use an S10 frame.
    I'm kidding.
     
    belair likes this.
  20. mopar362000
    Joined: Feb 14, 2008
    Posts: 88

    mopar362000
    Member

    There is an advanced design group on this site.Do not use s10 chassis.You would have to use spacers on front wheels to bring them out and have radiator fitment problems.jimmie king
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.