Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Caddy 472/Switch Pitch Combo... What Do I Need?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CaddyCrosley, Jan 16, 2018.

1. CaddyCrosley

CaddyCrosley

Hello all, I'm new to the HAMB. I don't really have a HAMB-friendly hot rod/custom - yet - but I can pull a lot of information from you guys (and already have). I'm currently building my first project car.

My question for you all is, what do I need in the way of solenoids/switches to make the engine and trans combo work? It's a '74 Cad 472 and a '67 ST400.

Thanks!

Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
    Donuts & Peelouts likes this.
  2. You'll need to leave all the nonsense out and rephrase the question sticking to things that are ALMOST on topic around here.

3. CaddyCrosley

CaddyCrosley

Right... I'll edit it...

4. squirrel

squirrel

there are two terminals on the side of the transmission. One is for kickdown, the other is for switch pitch. I think switch pitch is the top one..if you get it wrong, just switch them.

Kickdown wants to get 12v when the throttle is wide open, so the trans kicks down.

Switch pitch wants to get 12v when you want the converter to go into high stall, and no voltage when you want low stall.

I find that it works best if it gets high stall when the vehicle speed is low, like under 10 mph. Or when you are going down the dragstrip.

A toggle switch works. You could also wire it to the brake light switch, or to a switch on the throttle linkage, to give it SP when either your foot is off the gas, or when the pedal is down half way, or pretty much any other combo you want. If you run a toggle switch and drive it for a while, you might be able to figure it out.

5. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Donor car either has the kickdown switch on the gas pedal linkage inside or linked to the carb. I think the 500 in my ot truck has the same switch on the manifold. Or had at least. Photo nabbed off the net. kickdown switch.jpg