Register now to get rid of these ads!

c4 to flathead

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bigshawn, Aug 6, 2012.

1. So you guys that have done the c4 to flatty swap how happy are you with it and how was it to do? I went on a long trip last weekend about 130 miles each way on turnpike and the old 2 speed ford o matic just wasnt happy howling the whole way. Worst part was not being able to keep up with my buddies ,they thankfully slowed down for me, but I know they wanted to tear it up a little . what am i in for since I have never done this before thanks guys oh by the way I have a stock rear and my flatty is a pretty stock 52 and 6volt

2. jack orchard

jack orchard

C4 won't help with top speed because final gear ratio is 1 to 1. Flathead engines don't have a lot of horsepower. Any automatic trans will sap what little power you do have. Have you considered a T5 5-speed swap? It will put the fun back in driving and will also give you a nice overdrive 5th gear. Clutch pedals aren't hard to find. Just something to be considered. Best of luck...jack

3. Thanks been hearing alot about the t5 swap maybe what I nee to check into. can I keep the original rearend or do i need to change that too

4. George/Maine

George/Maine

I like my c4 running 255 mercury with 2.78 gears 205/70/15 tires.
    2000 rpms 55 mpg 2500 should do 70mph.
    I shift mine manualy most of time never miss a shift.

5. NMCarNut

NMCarNut
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

As stated unless you went to something with less than 1:1 in top gear your top speed cruising would be no different. If you do not mind shifting a T5 would be an excellent choice. Assuming it is still original, I believe rear end ratios for Ford-O equipped cars were 3.31 standard with 3.54 optional which should be ball park where you want to be depending on tire diameter, engine HP, and how fast you want to cruise.