Register now to get rid of these ads!

C4 kick down

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CGkidd, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. CGkidd
    Joined: Mar 2, 2002
    Posts: 2,838

    CGkidd
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I haven't run the C-4 trans before. Will it hurt the trans to not have the mechanical kick down lever hooked up?
     
  2. Hnstray
    Joined: Aug 23, 2009
    Posts: 11,261

    Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

    Depends.............I think the "kick down" may also be a throttle pressure valve up to the point travel reaches the downshift detent. If you have it in the lowest pressure position, such as very light throttle application would produce, upshifts will be too 'soft' for positive application of clutches/band and slippage could easily result.

    On the other hand, if you position it at the max pressure point to avoid the above, be prepared for harsh shifting at light throttle upshifts.

    Neither condition is desirable for "all the time"...but of the two, the higher pressure is likely to do the least damage because it won't be slipping.

    But why would you not want to connect it properly in the first place and have it operate as designed?

    Ray

    edit: OOPS.......forgot these are modulator controlled....Dang! I hate it when that happens
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012
  3. F.O.G
    Joined: Oct 31, 2006
    Posts: 259

    F.O.G
    Member
    from Pacific,Mo

    No, pressure is controlled by the modulator, you just won't have the kickdown
    feature.
     
  4. Gromit
    Joined: Oct 13, 2011
    Posts: 726

    Gromit
    Member

    Ran an FMX without one. I couldn't locate one to fit the application (It was in a Bricklin...) I didn't care for it. felt like a touring car moreso than a sports car.

    That said.. My Fairlane (C4) kickdown is broken.. I had the same question as you...
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. paulie_boy13
    Joined: Mar 1, 2005
    Posts: 269

    paulie_boy13
    Member
    from NC

    Just means you have to downshift it for a passing gear.
     
  6. need louvers ?
    Joined: Nov 20, 2008
    Posts: 12,911

    need louvers ?
    Member

    You will find that with the kick down disconected that first will shift very quickly at a low speed. I know these are modulator controled so I don't know why this would be, but I have had it happen with two cars. I found it allot better to just manually shift because of it. I think I would just spend a bit and hook up the kickdown and tune it where I like it. Just did this on my O/T car a couple of weeks ago it makes all the difference in the world.
     
  7. CGkidd
    Joined: Mar 2, 2002
    Posts: 2,838

    CGkidd
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I have to trim some of the firewall for the mechanical linkage to fit then find the actual linkage.
     
  8. Ole don
    Joined: Dec 16, 2005
    Posts: 2,915

    Ole don
    Member

    My 54 didnt have room to connect it. Like the fellow above said, at less than full throttle, it shifted to second very soon. Other than that, it worked well for years. It never needed to kick down, the 54 was light enough that it passed OK in high gear.
     
  9. Hnstray
    Joined: Aug 23, 2009
    Posts: 11,261

    Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL


    You could fit a cable control to operate the trans lever.....not very difficult to fabricate that.......

    Ray
     
  10. JOHNPO
    Joined: Dec 1, 2010
    Posts: 76

    JOHNPO
    Member

    Lokar c4 kick down cable
     

    Attached Files:

  11. need louvers ?
    Joined: Nov 20, 2008
    Posts: 12,911

    need louvers ?
    Member

    I personally wouldn't use anything but the Lokar stuff these days. The stock lingage is double ugly.
     
  12. Moose223
    Joined: Sep 17, 2007
    Posts: 147

    Moose223
    Member

    Lokar on all of my stuff no problems
     
  13. I asked the local auto guru if I needed a kickdown set up on my c4 ,he said no and it works just fine .Saved a lot of stuffing around to put linkage on the edelbrock carb.
     
  14. AnimalAin
    Joined: Jul 20, 2002
    Posts: 3,417

    AnimalAin
    Member

    It will work fine without it, but will drive better with it. I also recommend the Lokar stuff.
     
  15. Da' Bomb
    Joined: Apr 8, 2005
    Posts: 438

    Da' Bomb
    Member

    What Animal said.....
     
  16. CGkidd
    Joined: Mar 2, 2002
    Posts: 2,838

    CGkidd
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Thanks for the info guys.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.