Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Buyer/customer beware.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by anthony myrick, Jun 9, 2022.

1. Only posting as a reminder. These parts were cheap. No complaints here. But they were removed from a ride the owner thought was assembled by a competent shop.

Posted this axle I picked up yesterday. It was raining so we just loaded it up. Took a good look at it this morning. Reminded me that maybe we should check things out on our own rides and/or make sure the people that you might hire to do work is competent.
    The old style tie rods didn’t have the cotter pin installed. A couple adjusting screws were lose enough to turn. I’m no IH expert, but usually this style has some sort of dust cover.
    7CB08B9E-440C-43DB-AEF9-217CF86BCFFE.jpeg F146881B-3C7C-4F8B-93B4-E239A0CD9E8C.jpeg 7112B3D1-C812-42EF-AA4A-9378EE171B6F.jpeg
    the steering hit the shock
    F03B1F84-B603-46F2-9F98-9E4D674B028D.jpeg
    No pin and not completely screwed in.
    The steering hit the shock due to the spacer needed for the disc conversion. Or needed the shock flipped. But I like to have the shafts up not down.
    03253C61-4B24-46D4-87EE-EE181889B556.jpeg
    one king pin had the proper wedge bolt. The other had a bolt.
    DF3F462F-7C07-4B43-A780-6BC2896BC0E3.jpeg
    was it drilled out to fit this bolt? I didn’t remove it. But it seems to be larger than the other side. An issue? My mind wonders if the king pin could twist a little in the axle.

Last edited: Jun 9, 2022
  2. The hubs had roller bearings. We’re the original ball bearings? Don’t know. I do know I’d feel better with a washer behind this axle nut
    4B8F0F8B-1949-46CF-AFC3-DE00854A0321.jpeg
    would help keep the preload
    The dust cap seem d to have some type of glue on it. But it seems a cap wasn’t available so a larger one was modified.
    D61CD915-993C-4840-B74A-913470D18ED8.jpeg