Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Building a tribute to my Father

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by 64f100custom, Feb 22, 2016.

1. 64f100custom

64f100custom

Hey its Sid. Last year on November 23 my father died in a helicopter crash on fort Hood Military base during a Routine training mission. When I heard about this, I was heart broken and I realized that I would never get to build a car with him again. So I want to start a project that he's held for me since I was a sophomore in high school. Its a 1929 Model A Huckster Cowl. its only the cowl though as the window pillars have rusted off and the rest of the truck, since it was wood, has rotted away. My plan is for it is to find a station wagon from the late 50's early 60's (for the good looking fins lol) that wasn't popular, say like the nova wagon, any caddy that was a wagon, etc. Take the body, from the firewall back including doors, and replace the firewall with my cowl. (with modification to fit of course) and then style it with my own flair. Ill be chopping and channeling the body myself with help to move it around. all body work including the re-styling of a few certain items (depends on the wagon I get) will be done by yours truly. The engine will be a Slant six from either a Chrysler or a Dodge because its odd looking and I'm not really looking to go fast with this car. Cant start right now as I live in an apartment with my roommate but will be posting my ideas through out the time until I get a garage to work in. Comments and support would be greatly appreciated. if you feel like I'm missing something that would make the car look better or work smoother please let me know I'm open for options. Thanks

2. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

sincere sympathy goes out to you and rest of Family - your plan for the tribute car makes no sense - good that you have not started on it yet

3. Sorry to read of your Dad's passing.