Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical brakes again, master cyl selection

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by theHIGHLANDER, May 22, 2017.

1. theHIGHLANDER

theHIGHLANDER
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I'm into the on going struggle of this build takeover and can't seem to get an acceptable pedal feel. Everything is new, no old rusty parts, mullered up rubber lines, Wilwood 4 piston Dynalites on all 4. It's equipped with a 1" bore master. The pedal was cut to get it closer to the floor (yeah, I know) but any higher would introduce a drivability issue. I have a total available master cylinder stroke of 1/2", the total stroke of the cylinder is just over 1". Still, since when does any brake system worth it's fluid need more than about a 3rd of available travel or cylinder stroke to lock up the brakes (with all new parts, bleeding done right, etc)? If I calculated the displacement of the calipers right from their tech site we have about 16.48 cuin. Several sites place this system right in the middle of whether or not a 1 1/8" master is required. I can bottom the pedal easily right now, I can "ghetto pump" some additional pressure, there's not a drop of air in the system, the master is perfect, bench bled to perfection, fluid is full, all braided stainless/teflon flex lines, all stainless hard lines. This was new chassis engineered and assembled by Lobeck's back a few years ago so I had no reason to 2nd guess this gig. I'm about as fed up with this shit as I can be but I figured before I completely display a white flag over this I'd seek some help here. It is, afterall, a 33 Ford hot rod so there's that. Maybe not 100% in favor of our stuff but the parts being standard rod fare I see no foul in asking. It's under the floor, there's 2 2lb residual valves in the right place flowing the right way, there's also an adjustable proportioning valve at about 1/2 the total setting. Can't even play with that because I can't get "proper" pedal feel yet. Thanks