Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Brake line valves..

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Al, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Al

Al
    from Duluth, Mn

Hi. Having a problem with my brakes. Last time I bled the brakes was maybe 10 years ago. I have a dual master cylinder under the floor. Disc front, and drum rear. I have a adjustable proportioning valve and a line going to the rear drum brakes from the master cylinder. It seems to be leaking a little at the knob, and fittings on that adjustable valve. Can I replace that valve with a 10 Lb residual valve for the rear drums?? Thanks..

2. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

Go for it and see what happens. If the rear brakes lock up to soon then you'll have to put an adjustable valve back in place. That's the basics.

3. Al

Al
    from Duluth, Mn

Maybe I should just put in another adjustable valve. I would think by now those valves should have improved..

4. Al

Al
    from Duluth, Mn

DSC00006.JPG Looks like this..

5. Whats a residual valve do?

6. David Gersic

David Gersic
    from DeKalb, IL

Keeps a little line pressure to prevent the wheel cylinder from fully retracting.

Sent from my iPad using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

timwhit likes this.
  7. V8 Bob

V8 Bob
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Residuals keep air from entering past the drum brake wheel cylinder cups during brake release, because of the strong shoe return springs.

timwhit likes this.
  8. LM14

LM14
    Member Emeritus
    from Iowa

Rsidual valve is NOT a replacement for a proportioning valve. 2 completely different functions. Look for a Wilwood proportioning valve.

SPark

PJ10.jpg

Frankie47 likes this.
  9. Al

Al
    from Duluth, Mn

Will do that. Thanks..

10. Kerrynzl

Kerrynzl

Adjustable proportioning valves are just a "patch up" for those who get out of their depth mixing and matching parts.
    They don't proportion, they only limit maximum pressure.