Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects bp1971 '29 roadster build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bp1971, Sep 19, 2010.

1. The story: This is my first build, but have grew up building cars with my dad...My first car was a 70 SS chevelle buolt by my dad and myself. (still wish I had that car). At any rate I decided it was time that I build my self a hot rod and I have always liked model a roadsters Highboys. The opportunity came for my to purchase a '29 roadster body and '32 frame rails so I pulled the trigger...the Mrs. was not to thrilled.

What I have done so far:
    1. I had the frame pinched by the guys at Kiwi konnection
    2. After pinching the frame rails I boxed them.
    3. Installed front and rear cross members, After fitting the body to the rails several times and bobbed the frame.
    4. built the center cross member
    5. Mocked up motor and trans., tacking in the motor mounts.
    6. Set up front suspension,
    7. Narrowed the rear end to 59 1/2"
    8. Set rear 4 bar suspension. Made this fully adjustible by using tubing that is threaded on both ends. One end is a left hand thread, the other end is a right had thread. This allows me to move the rear axle with out having to take the linkage apart.
    9. Started mounting the body. Removed some of the rear sub frame on the body so the body would go over the '32 rails kick up in the rear.
    10. Pie cut the front cowl to eliminate the gap between the body and the frame.

Pictures:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 3, 2011
  2. loco_gringo

loco_gringo

Looking good bro. Keep it up.

3. brady1929

brady1929

4. bct

bct

i like the cowl treatment...keep on keepin' on