Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Bonding metal to fiberglass?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by uglydog56, Aug 7, 2010.

1. uglydog56

uglydog56

I need to mount the fiberglass front end on my 56 Chevy. It is a two piece, so I'm going to bolt the front end down, then use Dzus fasteners for the hood. I don't want to rivet plates on, because I don't want the rivet heads to show on the outside. so I'd like to just bond metal plates to the underside or thin angle iron so I can bolt the front on without the rivets showing. I'm certain there are a bunch of wrong ways to do this, but what is the best way to bond metal to the front end? How many square inches of metal should I have glued to the front end to keep it from pulling apart when I pass a semi on the interstate? Thanks for the help, guys. I'm new to bodywork that doesn't involve bondo and spray cans. Trying to do things the right way, but not pay a bodyman's kids' college at the same time.

2. 3M has a product listed here - looks like you can get it from Summit On line.

Duze fasteners suck use Camlocks from CoastFab in Huntington Beach, CA - or their new Aero Catch

More about Camlocks

Prep is the key to ANY bond line. The metal has to be prepped and lower the surface tension. The Fiberglass Kit,I have to assume, is is chopper glass and a few layers of fabric in a polyester base. Meaning it probably does NOT have bonded in pick up points...re enforced areas in the lay up that will provide structure for mounting ( other than Dukes of Hazzard hood pins with massive washers and "R" clips )