Register now to get rid of these ads!

Bodywork finishing putty-Icing info request

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Powerband, May 20, 2010.

1. Powerband

Powerband

ICING _ Finishing Putty

I'm a bodywork newbie and was recommended finishing putty "Icing" , to finish off current challenge - fiberglass hood scoop. A few 80' scratches on previos work and tiny air bubble/pockets need addressing before more primer. Has fiberglass waterproof filler/ Rage / DP epoxy primer and bare steel. .

'Picked up a tube and would like to hear from confident Icing applier before squeezing tube ...

The USC Data - PDF is basic filler info.

Compatible with all fillers? / Thinner consistency than filler?, / Faster 3 min set?, / Why does tube and lit. say POURABLE/BRUSHABLE, but only gives spreader info?

Thanks

Powerband

[​IMG] /// [​IMG]

2. my question to you is do you have a air file and the SKILL to operate it?

maybee would be better finished off more with regular body filler

could be a lot of work by hand:eek:

3. Gahrajmahal

Gahrajmahal

The "icing" would be polyester spot putty? If so I prefer epoxy sealer (primer) prior to applying the spot putty. If it is cake icing, I prefer buttercream. Just don't put it on a warm hood!

4. Do your self a favor and use Feather Fill , A Polyester primer. Fill no more then 80 grit, and you will be fine. This will seal lose fibers, so they will not show up later. When you have three, different materials as you do. fiberglass / gel coat / bondo. It will only be in time it will read through the surface. Nock it down to 150 or 100 grit then apply your k 200 sealer primer surfacer. Remember a hood get's all the sun's heat, and can't wait to shrink.

http://www.evercoat.com/productDetail.aspx?pID=70

Feather Fill®