Register now to get rid of these ads!

Best Soldering Gun and Terminals

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by The37Kid, May 23, 2013.

1. The37Kid

The37Kid

If you wanted to solder wire terninals who makes the best gun, and who manufactures the best terminals? Best wire would also be needed. To test your soldering how many pounds should the joint hold before braking? Bob

2. Sealed Power

Sealed Power
    from TN

I'm no expert but the old Weller soldering irons get my vote. They get hot fast!!

I'm talking about the ones with the bakeite case. You can usually find them cheap.

I'm sure there's new ones that are as good but I haven't found one. I had a new Weller and a new Craftsman neither of them would get hot as fast as the older ones.

3. Try again .... Welles makes a good dual range unit, good tips, easy to maintain , if not "traditional" use solder less terminals from "Ideal", Thomas& Betts, just go to an industrial supply house those guys won't sell you junk! If you are going for the really old look, ask them for the uncoated copper / brass units that require solder and not to be crimped. Purchase good flux core solder, brush or sandpaper the terminals and get your wire stripped. The method that works for me on solderless terminals is to tin the conductors first (heat the wire and coat with solder, well getnitnfull of solder) next get the terminal heated, you'll need to thermally isolate it, fill it with solder and while still hot insert the wire. Another way is to heat the terminal then when hot insert the wire and feed the solder from the wire end. Remember that stuff is going to flow toward the heat, away from the cold. Practice with spare wire, you can always reheat the terminal, pull the wire and sling out the terminal, brush it clean and you can still use it again. Oh, as I suggested for solder less terminals, they are crimped, extra solder may make a better flow of electricity, but isn't really necessary.

4. Lobucrod

Lobucrod