Register now to get rid of these ads!

Battery Question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by NextLevel, Sep 9, 2012.

1. NextLevel

NextLevel

Hey Fellas quick questions, hope somone can steer me in the right direction.

So here goes!! I have a 1948 Chevy Fleetmaster I bought about a month ago, the guy I purchased it from said it had a new battery in it from o'reillys auto parts.
    I noticed it's a 8V battery but I was under the impression these cars use 6V batteries? Will I have any problems running that battery? I could use some recommendations/experience etc.. Will it cause any problems long term?

Thanks!!

2. pasadenahotrod

pasadenahotrod
    from Texas

You'll see less service from your bulbs but otherwise nothing much. 8V batteries are tractor stuff used as a patch for a badly grounded and failing electric system.

3. willowbilly3

willowbilly3
    Member Emeritus
    from Sturgis

That used to be a fix for ailing 6 volt systems or cars that started a little hard. The voltage regulator usually needed tweaked up a little too.

4. waldo53

waldo53
    from ID

It's going to create more problems for you than it will solve. A good 6V battery, properly adjusted regulator, good 6V cables (they are much heavier than those used on 12V vehicles) good grounds, etc. and that little stovebolt will be happy.

5. NextLevel

NextLevel

OK thank you so much for the info! Now i need to hunt down a 6v battery. I called the parts store to find out how much they are going for and they quoted me 195.00 :eek:

6. Jimmy2car

Jimmy2car
    from No. Cal

Just go to the local tractor store

7. gwarren007

gwarren007

Can you give the part number- hard to believe they would sell an 8v battery..maybe a misprint.

Call the pats store again and ask for a group 1 battery.

8. krooser

krooser

Nothing wrong with using an 8 volt battery.