Register now to get rid of these ads!

banjo rear condition?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bigscooter, Oct 9, 2011.

1. bigscooter

bigscooter
    from oregon

hi guys, what's the easiest way to check the condition of a model A rear end? like for rusty gears and stuff. i've never worked on this style before:confused:

i'm wanting to pick the best one of the two that i have.

thanks!

Last edited: Oct 9, 2011
  2. pasadenahotrod

pasadenahotrod
    from Texas

Take the spring off...carefully and use a spring spreader. Disconnect the radius rods at the torque tube. Then take the axle housings off the center section. All will be shown to you then.

3. bigscooter

bigscooter
    from oregon

i can do this with the axles/brakes/drums intacted?
    what works best to seal them back in place?

4. oj

oj

The axles will stay with the carrier, remove wheel & brake drum - the axle is tapered so you'll need a drum puller.

If you are worried i have one apart and can send pics, it really is easy to take apart. Going back together is a different story. The carrier bearings seat in the axle tubes (bells) and the carrier floats between them. The gasket on the axle tube is the shim and they come in different thicknesses. I am thinking if your axles turn freely and there isn't any tight spots etc and the pinion freeplay is tight i would let it go. If you are the curious perfection type then get some wrenches, this will be an experience you won't soon forget!

Last edited: Oct 9, 2011

5. neilswheels

neilswheels
    from England

banjo rearend recon is looked at in the December R&C, assuming a 40 is similar to an A??