Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects AV8 First Build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Ben Chirco, Sep 2, 2021.

1. Ben Chirco

Ben Chirco

This is my first build. I have some other antique/classic cars that I have restored, but they have been just changing out parts. Which is much easier than what I am attempting to do now. Please go easy on me as I may ask some questions that most of you feel are elementary.

I have a 1930 tudor, a flat head out of a 52 Ford. An EAB or 8BA, two Toploader transmissions, a 1948 F1 steering box and column, 1948 F1 crossmember and pedals, and 1940 juice brakes on all four wheels.

I have done many, many, many, hours of research. I have read many builds and I will have a few questions along the way, so please help me out. Thank you.

My first hurdle is to determine where the engine will sit on the frame. I want to see if I have a problem with the firewall and what I can do for a fan. I have mounted up an empty three speed Toploader case to the bell housing and I want to bolt it up to the closed driveshaft of the model A that I am keeping. My question is, in the picture below, do I just bolt up these two pieces and assume that that would be where my engine will finally rest? I will not be hooking up the universal joint to the transmission or the closed driveshaft at this time. I attempted to do that with my other Toploader transmission I have, but noticed that the input shaft on the top loader is bigger than the clutch. This clutch issue I have not researched yet. closed driveshaft.jpg Transmission.jpg

Last edited: Sep 2, 2021
    Nailhead A-V8 and kidcampbell71 like this.
  2. adam401

adam401

Bolt the engine and transmission together. Mount your radiator in the stock location. Mount your waterpumps, pulleys and fan to the front of your engine. Space the fan 1-1/2 back from the radiator. That's where your engine goes. I always build front to back.

3. Dave G in Gansevoort

Dave G in Gansevoort