Register now to get rid of these ads!

autocad hot rod drawing f#$K up

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrodderhaag, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

    i spent all weekend drawing my 30 dodge in auto cad so i had a nice model to go off and measure.. countless hours drawing ,, only to oen it today and for some reason it didnt save properly. the preview for the icon is correct ( with all the parts) but the actual file isnt........... andi checked the propertys and it says last modified was when i save it.. wtf?!!!:mad::confused:
     
  2. GizmoJoe
    Joined: Jul 18, 2007
    Posts: 1,299

    GizmoJoe
    Member

  3. Find the .bak file and save it as a .dwg
     
  4. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

    gizmijoe.. you my friend are a very f-ing smart man.. haha after pissing with it all morning and almost throwing the computer out in the rain, i tried what u said and it opend right up!!! waaaaahoooo
     

  5. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

    the .bak file wasnt right either, it came up as an error
     
  6. Go to your file folder and find the file with the .bac extension. Rename it with a .dwg extension and open it. It will probably not get you back to where you stopped but it will be within a few minutes of when you last saved.

    Never mind I see that you already tried that. looks like you have a corrupted file, did you start with a fresh file or do a save as from another file and go from there?
     
  7. GizmoJoe
    Joined: Jul 18, 2007
    Posts: 1,299

    GizmoJoe
    Member

    Great!
    I tell my students all the time:
    The secret isn't knowing everything.. it's knowing where to find it.
    :)
    Glad I could help.

    Now.... you gonna show us the drawing at some point?
    I can't draw a straight line with a ruler.

    Joe
     
  8. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

    haha well if i can figure out how the heck to get the drawing up on here... i think you guys would like it.. by no means am i building a "r" rod.. more like a traditional but as best to my ability anyways,
     
  9. rod rialto
    Joined: Apr 10, 2011
    Posts: 59

    rod rialto
    Member
    from rialto, ca

    You should be able to click on "save as" and choose either .pdf or .jpg so you can post it here...I'm interested in seeing it too.
     
  10. GizmoJoe
    Joined: Jul 18, 2007
    Posts: 1,299

    GizmoJoe
    Member

    Cool.
    Worst case if you can't export it to a format we can all view on the board.. just display it on your screen, hit the "printscreen" key to copy it to the clipboard. Then you can paste it to paint or something. After that you can save it as a jpg.
     
  11. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

  12. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

    theres actually alot of detail in the drawing.. every individual part is there.. waiting on my buddy to draw me a 392 blown hemi for it. then we will convert it all to a solid works 3d model
     
  13. Morrisman
    Joined: Dec 9, 2003
    Posts: 1,602

    Morrisman
    Member
    from England

  14. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

  15. Rickybop
    Joined: May 23, 2008
    Posts: 8,528

    Rickybop
    Member
    from Michigan

    Always good to do some designing early on. It can (and usually does) help to avoid problems down the road.

    Such as...

    You might wanna set your rear trailing arms closer to level.

    Good luck with everything.

    P.S. - And glad you got your drawing back!
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011


  16. And make them longer.
     
  17. hotrodderhaag
    Joined: Jan 22, 2007
    Posts: 2,127

    hotrodderhaag
    Member

    any ideas and or suggestions are greatly appreciated guys.. thanks
     
  18. Ned Ludd
    Joined: May 15, 2009
    Posts: 4,667

    Ned Ludd
    Member

    Try this. Begin a new drawing, and try inserting the drawing that won't open as a block. If that works, explode the block and save the file under the original filename.

    To post on here, what I usually do is plot the drawing to .pdf with all the line weights etc. I want, then convert the .pdf to .jpg in Photoshop. That's more predictable than plotting direct to .jpg, which sizes the line weights according to the screen size rather than a physical page size. Then I upload the .jpg to Photobucket, whence I may insert it using the postcard-looking icon second from the right in the reply text window.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.