Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Austin Somerset Gasser Build (DragNasty)

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Deuced Up!, Jan 22, 2014.

1. Deuced Up!

Deuced Up!
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Well I have been working on my Austin Somerset Gasser project for about 6 months now and gathering parts much longer. I have been keeping tabs on it in one of my H.A.M.B. Albums and contemplating a build thread.

I have had several members tell me I should do a thread on it so here it is, remember, you asked for it...

In 2007 I was perusing EBAY and stumbled across an Austin Somerset. I knew about the Somerset because I have always been a huge fan of the Austin Dorset Gassers. Anyway the Somerset was the next generation of the Austin A40 but unlike its predecessors the Dorset (2 door) and Devon (4 door), the two door model was gone forever.

I still liked the body lines and decided to play around with Photoshop. It looked to me that unlike the 4 door Devon, the Somerset had larger doors. I thought you could weld up the rear door and the front door would not look out of proportion with the rest of the car. Below is the Photoshopped idea and the actual car that was for sale in Florida. By the way, I lost the bid on it and poof, moved my ADD little mind to something else.
    [​IMG]
    Then one day about two years ago I got the fever again for a straight axle Gasser. I put an ad out on Craigslist looking for a Dorset. About 6 months went by with no response. Then out of the blue a guy calls me from Northern Minnesota and says he saw the ad. He added he did not have a Dorset but he did have a Somerset that had been in storage since 1962.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

No it is not the same Somerset, but it was green. It had 26,000 miles on it and aside from barn abuse and time, it was a very straight little car.

Last edited: Jul 17, 2016
    AHotRod likes this.
  2. Deuced Up!

Deuced Up!
    ALLIANCE MEMBER