Register now to get rid of these ads!

Anyone running a Gordon Schroeder steering box in there A

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 64ONEOFF, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. 64ONEOFF
    Joined: Nov 30, 2011
    Posts: 378

    64ONEOFF
    Member
    from Md.

    Was wondering if anyone out the is running this steering box, Also was wondering if so is it a bear to steer... Thanks fellas:D
     
  2. oj
    Joined: Jul 27, 2008
    Posts: 6,247

    oj
    Member

    Can't fit it in there, better let me have it ok?
     
  3. 64ONEOFF
    Joined: Nov 30, 2011
    Posts: 378

    64ONEOFF
    Member
    from Md.

    I dont believe u, LOL
     
  4. denis4x4
    Joined: Apr 23, 2005
    Posts: 3,426

    denis4x4
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Colorado

    Not exactly an A, but here's my Schroeder box in an A powered Zipper Lakester. Note the mounting brackets. Only problem was getting the right length on the pitman arm. Had to modify the steering arm to get the drag link parallel to the ground. Using a 13" steering wheel and it's like power steering. Been running this set up for 13 years.
     

    Attached Files:

    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. 64ONEOFF
    Joined: Nov 30, 2011
    Posts: 378

    64ONEOFF
    Member
    from Md.

    Thanks for the info... I want to try to jam it under the dash, probably gonna move the firewall out some for leg room also.
     
  6. Xman
    Joined: Nov 17, 2011
    Posts: 432

    Xman
    Member

    This what I'm doing in my 34 3W. I'll build the inner mount after I have the floor in place. It's 8-1 and may be a little hard to steer at low speed but that's Hot Roddin.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 64ONEOFF
    Joined: Nov 30, 2011
    Posts: 378

    64ONEOFF
    Member
    from Md.

  8. I didn't run a Shroeder but I ran a mid 70s mid size Chrysler box, works great and cheaper, may be a better alternative and there are several techs on here for it.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Da' Bomb
    Joined: Apr 8, 2005
    Posts: 438

    Da' Bomb
    Member

    I had one in my coupester...It was surely an "armstrong" effort. Doable, but work at low speed. I ended up using a quickner reversed to reduce effort....Much better
     
  10. 64ONEOFF
    Joined: Nov 30, 2011
    Posts: 378

    64ONEOFF
    Member
    from Md.

    Thanks fellas, I have also seen the reverse corvair box alot. I appriciate your info.
     
  11. Firecat7
    Joined: Dec 11, 2011
    Posts: 254

    Firecat7
    Member

    take a look at the bmw box,doing a build now works good to mount,very compact. but we are not driving yet. can't give you a final crtique
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.