Register now to get rid of these ads!

Anyone running a 3 in the tree?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jn6047, Apr 1, 2009.

1. jn6047

jn6047
    from Alberta

Still plugging away on my project. Gotta make a final decision on the tranny. Wondering if anyone is running a column shifted three speed in a 50s era vehicle, and how they like it for average driving. Thanks!

2. Dan10

Dan10
    from Joplin

I used to love speed shifting my 60 f-100 with the 3-on-tree until the linkage broke. It really confused most people who assumed it was an automatic.

3. 2NDCHANCE

2NDCHANCE

I've been using one in my 64 chevy c-10 for 16 years now. New bushinings down on the column and no problems, i would have to get a free muncie 4 speed before i even thought about taking the 3 speed out. Now an overdrive tranny would be awesome going dow the road. Think about that. Gary P.S. AT THE LOCAL CAR SHOWS THE THREE ON THE TREE GETS THE CONVERSATION STARTED.

4. Jkustom

Jkustom
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

My 20 year old sister drives her 235/3-on the column 51 chevy almost everyday.. With fentons and straight pipes.. Are you gonna let her be harder core than you man?

I drive the car a lot and I dont mind it, even in traffic.. A manual is a manual, but that said it is nice to "set it and forget it" with the th350 in my car sometimes...

5. Mockie

Mockie

235 3 on tree in 50 fleetline here. I actually dig driving mine. Probably since I really don't take her out as much as I should.

6. vegas paul

vegas paul
    from salina, ks

My 51 Stude has 3 on the tree w/ Overdrive. Borg-Warner T-96, it's a great tranny used in several other makes also.

7. sixinarowjoe

sixinarowjoe
    from eastcoast

yup 235 3 on the tree ,fentons -1-1/2 straight pipe , in 51 chevy coupe - shifts great

8. wetatt4u

wetatt4u

I've got the stock set-up on my 66 El Camino ,

327 cu in and Three speed on the tree..

Love it and going to keep it just as it came from the General...

9. 55FORDWGN