Register now to get rid of these ads!

Anybody Remember "The Old 67 Speedway" Garland Tx

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 32HiboyRoadster, Dec 20, 2007.

1. 32HiboyRoadster

32HiboyRoadster

A friend of mines Dad owned a dirt track back around 63 or 64 that was called The Old 67 Speedway". It was located around Zion Rd and Hwy 67 on the outskirts of Garland, Tx right outside Dallas. Anyone got any pictures or memories? Thanks

2. Chandler

Chandler
    from Rowlett,TX

I know where Zion and I-30 is in Garland. I guess Im not familiar with zion and Hwy 67

3. PeteFromTexas

PeteFromTexas

Highway 67 runs north from Mansfield into Cedar Hill and Duncanville. When it gets into the south Dallas area it merges with I-35E. Then it follows I-30 east. So Zion Rd and 67 is the same aas Zion Rd and 30. I 30 hasn't been there for very long. Probably only 25 years or so.

Looking at the current aerial photographs. (Thats what I do for a living) For the most part the whole area is developed now. I cant see anything that looks like a dirt track.

4. Chandler

Chandler
    from Rowlett,TX

I live in that area. It all developed out that way

5. PeteFromTexas

PeteFromTexas

Its not all developed but for the most part it is. Does anyone know the name of the guy who owned the property? I have access to the county propety records. We could find out exactly where is was.

6. 32HiboyRoadster

32HiboyRoadster

Apparently my buddies memory was slightly off (he was around 7 at the time). He called his Mother and it was located at what is now Zion and 30. It was on the Norwest corner of that intersection and they think it is still undeveloped. Hope this helps.

7. Chandler

Chandler
    from Rowlett,TX

I know there is some subdivisons over there and a High School.
    Im to young to have ever seen the track. Would be kinda cool to find some info on it. I use to work for the City there. Ill ask some of the old guys I know

8. Rusty

Rusty