Register now to get rid of these ads!

Anybody mount a brake light switch on a 32 Ford with mechanical brakes

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Kevinsrodshop, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    I picked up one of these brake switches from Macs. Hoping I could make it work on a 32 Ford with mechanical brakes. Trying to find a mounting spot for it in the brake pedal area. Anybody do it before and can give me a pic?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. F&J
    Joined: Apr 5, 2007
    Posts: 13,217

    F&J
    Member

    I assume it must make the connection when the pin comes out.

    anyways, if the car is mech orig rod type brakes, can't you go off of the main cross shaft ass'y, if you have no room at the brake pedal? I have never had a 32 stock brake setup, but Model A has a cross shaft with plenty of room to add a switch in that area.
     
  3. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    Yes the switch is closed with the pin out. I thought about putting it on the cross shaft but the cross shaft moves when the parking brake is set. Don't want the brake lights on with the park brake set. That means it has to be on the brake pedal somewhere. Not much room around there plus not much of a flat surface for the pin to be alighed with.
     
  4. F&J
    Joined: Apr 5, 2007
    Posts: 13,217

    F&J
    Member

    oops forgot about the e-brake.

    well....an active thread gets more views, that's my story:)
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. modelAsteve
    Joined: Jan 9, 2009
    Posts: 346

    modelAsteve
    Member

    Henry Ford did!
     
  6. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    Not in 32 lol. 35 was the first year for brake lights I think. Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  7. Atwater Mike
    Joined: May 31, 2002
    Posts: 10,080

    Atwater Mike
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    NAPA has a switch with a cross-lever on it, mount the switch beneath the toe board so the pedal arm goes down and the spring-loaded lever goes with it, completing the 2 wire circuit.
    Pedal is released, back goes the arm, breaking the circuit.

    Switch is generic, for a truck, probably a manual PTO, to alert the driver when the lever is engaged...
     
  8. Wait, so until '35 the rear tail lights were only there for night driving? I could've sworn my original '32 light had a double filament bulb in it.. which would suggest a driving light and brake light?
     
  9. chevyburb
    Joined: Apr 17, 2006
    Posts: 169

    chevyburb
    Member

    What Atwater Mike said....They were on '50's Chevy/GMC trucks.
     
  10. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    I can only go by what mine is. I had a single filament bulb in mine.
     
  11. You also had (or should have had) in addition to the brake light bulb a second bulb for the tail light. I would just hold out for an original switch. Try Baxter's Ford Parts (785) 842-9256, C&G (760) 740-2400, The Early Ford Store (909) 305-1955.

    Charlie Stephens
     
  12. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    Where does and original switch mount? There's no switch in my truck that I can see.
     
  13. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,291

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from texas

    The switch in the picture above looks very much like the correct switch. When you pull the e brake does the brake pedal go down also? If not the switch will be close to the pedal. Been over 40 years since I had a model a.
     
  14. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    Pulling the e brake does not move the brake pedal. I've looked again and there is nothing in the brake pedal area that looks like it ever mounted a swtich in the past.
     
  15. mitchsfab
    Joined: May 20, 2010
    Posts: 99

    mitchsfab
    Member

    Like Atwater Mike said, the lever type. The part number is either SLS-40 or SLS-43. Both bolt to the under side of the floor with 10-32 screws. They are a GM switch ranging from '41-'72. Most auto parts stock them. They also come in left or right side lever, depending on which way you look at it.

    The part number is out of my "Standard Engine Management" book.
     
  16. JM 35 Sedan
    Joined: Feb 2, 2012
    Posts: 36

    JM 35 Sedan
    Member

    I know there were brake light switches on Fords prior to '35, including '32. Go over on the Fordbarn and post this question. If DavidG or one of the other knowledgeable '32 gurus does not answer your post, send a pm to DavidG. He wrote the latest two volume restoration book on the 32 Ford. I am sure he can tell you where the brake light switch mounts on an original '32.
     
  17. WillyNilly
    Joined: Apr 7, 2013
    Posts: 240

    WillyNilly
    Member
    from NorCal

    When I went to the dual master on my Willys pickup, I removed the hydraulic pressure switch. I ended up using a rear brake switch off a motorcycle. It's a pull type plunger switch. I made up a bracket and attached the spring to the spring hole in the pedal. Works fine.

    http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/34087/sn/1416444322/name/PA230016.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
  18. The original switch mounts on the left front of the 1932 transmission shift tower. An original shift tower should have a threaded hole for the screw to mount the switch. The switch is activated by a wire and a spring going to the brake pedal.

    Charlie Stephens
     
  19. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 8,274

    manyolcars

    Have you ever looked in Snyders catalog at the brake light switches for 28 and 29 Fords, also the switch for 30/31 Ford?
    I use a Harley pull switch from J&P cycles
     
  20. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    Ahh so thats what the stud with the red arrow is for then?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Kevinsrodshop
    Joined: Aug 22, 2009
    Posts: 589

    Kevinsrodshop
    Member

    Not Snyders but Macs doesn't offer one for 32 so I thought it didn't exist. For that matter I didn't know Model As came with brake lights too. I'm learning lots tonight.
     
  22. manyolcars
    Joined: Mar 30, 2001
    Posts: 8,274

    manyolcars

    Is that the breather/pressure relief?
     
  23. Yes, that is where the switch mounts. I think (working from memory) you will also find a small tit about 1 inch towards the rear of the car to keep the switch aligned.

    Charlie Stephens
     
  24. 32 ford brake light switch.jpg Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 5.33.21 PM.png
    been looking at this for mine. Orig pedals with an old school hydraulic conversion. notice the angle on the switch tab and the different size holes
     
  25. Bruce Lancaster
    Joined: Oct 9, 2001
    Posts: 21,682

    Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

    The proper '32 switch is fairly hard to find, and of course won't go right on without some minor creativity if you have a later trans lid. If that applies to you, bending up a bracket to mount another early Ford switch off of that area so it hits the brake rod should not be terribly hard. It can't really go anywhere else on '32 with stock brakes, because mounted there it works from the brake pedal but not the E brake lever. Mounted to work from the crossbar or something your brake lights would be on with car parked...the '32 has full service four wheel brakes on the e-brake as well as on the pedal.
     
    Atwater Mike likes this.
  26. Check out the NOS 32 brake light switch on eBay now.
    The auction is up to 180.00 (proof that 1932's are a sickness)
     
    Atwater Mike likes this.
  27. woodiewagon46
    Joined: Mar 14, 2013
    Posts: 1,643

    woodiewagon46
    Member
    from New York

    Model A Fords had brake light switches. Mounted to the transmission with a link to the break pedal.
     
  28. model a transmission mount stoplight switch.
    model a stoplight.jpg
    That might work for me.
     
  29. Atwater Mike
    Joined: May 31, 2002
    Posts: 10,080

    Atwater Mike
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    My stock '30 Model A had a stop lamp. I was second owner...sold it because it was a Coupe. A rust free Coupe.
    I had a roadster. And sold my Coupe. It's just now sinking in...
    Bring me my straitjacket, please.
     
  30. I had nothing but issues with the pictured switches - went to a mechanical lever switch, no more issues ;)
     
    37 Millrat likes this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.