Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Another HAMB drag set back

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mcmopar, Jul 29, 2017.

  1. I can't imagine that a 205 would be 8" wide. I had 215s on the front of the pusher and they were no where near 8" wide.

    Not arguing here. Just information.
     
  2. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Here's what I ended up with.[​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Max Gearhead, loudbang and bchrismer like this.
  3. Looks good if the wheels turn you're golden. Damn its nice to be around people who can make the trip. ;)
     
    loudbang, Tim and bchrismer like this.
  4. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Looks good from here!
     
    loudbang likes this.
  5. T&A Flathead
    Joined: Apr 28, 2007
    Posts: 1,822

    T&A Flathead
    Member

    Truck looks great. It's cool to see an old mopar get resurrected. Enjoy the trip to the drags. I've attended it numerous times when I lived in KC. You are in good hands of you meet up with the crew from KC.

    Not sure what part of WI you are in, but if you ever get near Milwaukee, let me know. I have shop in Pewaukee, we can meet up, tell lies, and have a cold one or three.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  6. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Beano, I am doing everything in my power to get this done. My wife laughs at me because I have lost 8 pounds so far trying to get this done. Made it so far. We will measure tires when we hook up.

    T&A, I live in Strum WI, about 20 minutes south of Eau Claire. I am taking my truck to Symco, today hopefully and home on sunday. That gives me 2 days once I get home to fix anything broken before I leave for the HAMB drags, fingers crossed.

    I had Biggs carburetor rebuild my 600cfm for me and it seems ok, but it is a thirsty little thing. I believe it is running rich. If I take it in town today I will take it to him and see what he thinks.
    Tony
     
    loudbang and Tim like this.
  7. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Man we're rooting for ya!
     
    loudbang likes this.
  8. raven
    Joined: Aug 19, 2002
    Posts: 4,614

    raven
    Member

    Keep at it. Looking forward to seeing that truck!
    r
     
    loudbang likes this.
  9. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Didn't make it to town it was flooding out. Turned around found junk I carb. Runs good now.
     
    loudbang and firstinsteele like this.
  10. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Test ride is good so far. Truck is running great.[​IMG]
     
    loudbang and Tim like this.
  11. flamedabone
    Joined: Aug 3, 2001
    Posts: 4,871

    flamedabone
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Outstanding. Put some black on those wheels and head to Joplin.

    -Abone.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  12. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Update, still having carb problems. I can't get it to idle below 1300 rpms. It's all about the tuning, and I'm learning, slowly. Ive never tuned one. Idle screw is not touching so not sure what to look for.
    Tony
     
  13. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,440

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    What type of carb you running?
    Choke fast idle cam holding the throttle open?
     
    loudbang likes this.
  14. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Vacuum leak?
     
  15. flamedabone
    Joined: Aug 3, 2001
    Posts: 4,871

    flamedabone
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    You need to know what your timing numbers are. If you have too much initial timing, that will increase your idle RPM. Get a real dial back timing light and that will tell you where to go from there.

    Also, a big vacuum leak will cause your idle RPM to be higher than normal.

    -Abone.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  16. Which style intake gaskets did you use? As said above a vacuum leak will cause it and the steel shin style gaskets can be hard to get to seal.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    loudbang likes this.
  17. vbarker
    Joined: Dec 2, 2016
    Posts: 22

    vbarker

    If you are using 360 heads on a stock 318 engine the valves are hitting on the side of bore.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  18. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    The motor is stock. 600 cm Holley. Set the timing at 5 degrees btc. Total timing was 33 degrees. This was all set before the carb problem. I checked it This morning and it was 0 btc, and the the timing tape came off so not sure what total is.
    The gasket is a holley gasket.
    I thought of the vacuum leak but couldn't find one.
    Tony
     
    loudbang likes this.
  19. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Are you spraying to find the vacuum leak? Could even be a lose bolt.

    Maybe check your advance springs/weights. Maybe something's stuck?
     
    loudbang likes this.
  20. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Follow up question, does it idle the same in park, neutral, in drive, in drive at a stop light?

    If it will idle fine in gear or at a stop light but not parked it might give you some direction where to look for issues
     
    loudbang likes this.
  21. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Idles the same in all 5 gears. On my way home from symco and will look into it when I get home. I will use some spray to see if there is a vacuum leak.
    Tony
     
    sjm1340 and loudbang like this.
  22. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    I know I've had a carb base bolt half a turn lose and play havok with the idle. Hope it sorts its self out for ya
     
  23. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Sprayed some starting fluid around motor and it did not bring the rpms up. I am starting to believe that the choke has something to do with this. Can I loosen up the screws and rotate the choke?[​IMG]
     
    loudbang likes this.
  24. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 10,440

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    yes you can.
    When it is up to temp push down on the red plastic fast idle cam and see if it idles down.
    If it does then rotate the choke so in will let it go to base idle when warmed up.
     
    loudbang and Tim like this.
  25. raven
    Joined: Aug 19, 2002
    Posts: 4,614

    raven
    Member

    That shot from the windshield brought a smile to my face. Glad to see it's on the road. The fast idle shouldn't be an issue to fix.
    r
     
    Tim and loudbang like this.
  26. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 11,874

    Tim
    Member
    from Raytown Mo

    Sounds like it should be in grasp now :) worse case you wouldn't be the first one to be driving with a weird idle. I'm sure it's something simple and you'll feel silly when you finally
    Figure it out.

    Like yesterday when I realized that my car was running funny and down on power because I had lost a plug wire lol.
     
  27. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Took truck for a drive to warm up then check carb. When hot it was around 1200 and couldn't do anything with it. Pushed on the red fast idle cam and it acted like it was stuck. Now everything seems to be good, but I don't feel like I did anything. It's now idling at 700 and I'm happy. Timing is 5 btc and 32 total. Thanks for all the input everyone.
    Tony
     
    saltflats, loudbang and porkshop like this.
  28. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Spoke to soon. Just started up to move and 1300 rpms and won't go down. Hit red cam and it's stuck again. At least I now found the problem.
    Tony
     
  29. Doctorterry
    Joined: Sep 12, 2015
    Posts: 674

    Doctorterry
    Member

    Can you help point out the issue? I must be over looking something... haha!!


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  30. mcmopar
    Joined: Nov 12, 2012
    Posts: 1,590

    mcmopar
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Strum, wi

    Went to get some parts this mornin and walk out of the store to this. At least I know the scrub line is good.[​IMG]
     
    loudbang likes this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.